Teal Ribbon Run


I didn’t have high hopes for my time in this race.  I went to a big party last night on Lake George and though I didn’t drink, I danced a lot and went too bed late.  I was exhausted when I woke up this morning.

It rained all night and was raining lightly when I left for the race.  It completely stopped by the start of the race.  There was a walk and a 5K.  All the money raised, which was over $100,000 went to research for ovarian cancer and most of the runners knew someone who died of the disease. Two people from where I work were volunteering at the the race.  This, of course, motivated me to run fast, at least when I passed them.

The course was twice around Washington Park (which had several small annoying hills).  I ran the first mile way too fast (9 minutes) and the last mile, for the first time in a race, I struggled and even considered walking.  I forced myself to finish… and came in under 31 minutes.  This was a PR for me.

Fox News Video: http://www.truveo.com/Teal-Ribbon-WalkRun/id/339637869

Leave a Reply

