Lake George Half Marathon Pre-Race Report


I took today off from work.  I packed racing gear to support all weather conditions but I was secretly hoping that the forecast was wrong & I could wear my original outfit (green tank & black skirt).

The weather was beautiful.  Sunny and in the 50’s.  I hung around the house for awhile doing some yard work while my hubby mowed the lawn (He’s been anxious to do it.)

Slater in the lawn mover bag

 I live about an hour from Lake George. So in the early afternoon, I drove directly to pick up my race packet at the Fort Wm Henry Conference Center. 

This is always exciting for me.

This only my 2nd half and I’ve never done a real big one.  But this one seems rather unorganized. They sent update emails everyday for the last 2 weeks.  The last one offered a $10 off discount code.  I guess I should have waited to sign up. They advertised chip timing and a Pasta Party for tonight. Now they say there’s manual timing and no party because the hotel has no room.  You would think they would have booked a room.  Also there is construction on the road for the first mile.

I picked up my technical shirt (& Mary’s) but they said the numbers went to Buffalo by mistake & they hoped they’d arrive by tomorrow! (They did arrive & I got mine.)

race shirt

Then I checked into the hotel next door.  The room is very nice as is the hotel.  Mary & I had planned to room together before she got injured and then my hubby was going to come but he has a tennis match. So I’m going solo!!

Ft Wm Henry Hotel

As I said the weather couldn’t have been more perfect.  I walked around Lake George Village trying to soak in the sunshine and trying to forget that they changed the forecast to 100% chance of rain (& snow flurries) with temps in the high 30’s!!!!

start/finish line

I even wore my tech tee-shirt in town.  Unfortunately my boating friends are still in Florida except for one who is opening a cafe.  I stopped by there to say hello. (It opens next weekend.)

Then I headed to the outlets.  I was good.  I only bought one pair of running shorts & a shirt that I don’t need and a sweatshirt for my hubby. (Maybe I’ll stop again on the way home.)

Since there was no pasta party, I walked into town and got some pasta to go. I plan to finish this post, hit the hot tub and try to get to bed early (& pray for better weather than predicted.)

Happy Running! Happy Earth Day!!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Lake George Half Marathon Pre-Race Report

Leave a Reply

