Sean’s Run 5K Race Report


Another new race. There were several to choose from yesterday that were closer to my house (and flatter) but I thought that an extra day of rest for my legs would be a good thing.  Also my friend Mary promised to be there and run.

My race goals:

  • Run the whole thing
  • Finish under 30 minutes
  • Have fun!

The weather was predicted to be nice.  But you never know:

However, the weather report was right again.  Yesterday the weather was perfect. We hung out on Lake George with friends.

first boat ride of the season

 

where last weekend's half was held

 

Today was also a  beautiful sunny day and even warmer than yesterday.  I decided to wear my Half Marathon outfit!

The race was schedule to start at 1 pm.  (I prefer an early morning race!).  By 11 am, I was hungry but didn’t want to eat too much.  I had a Honey Milk & a banana.

I left early because I knew that it would be crowded. There were supposed to be about 1500 runners.

I got there around 12:30.  Just in time to watch Meghan’s Mile, a kids race. Boy were these kids fast.  The boy who won finished under 6 minutes and the girl winner just a little over 6 minutes.

Mary arrived around 12:45 and we snapped a pre-race photo.

She is recovering from a stress fracture & pneumonia and I warned her to take it easy!

It was very crowded.  We started in the middle of the pack but I started my Garmin when I crossed the starting line. 

cool pic from the Register Star

I immediately started weaving in and out of the crowd.  This was not an easy course and it was hot!  I tried to keep a good pace and was doing great until the steep hill after mile one. I starting slowing down, and was very warm & thirsty.  As a result I stopped for every water stop and there were like 5 or so.  I even had to stop and tie my shoe . UGH! I tried to run a little faster the last mile but again, it ended with a hill.  At least, I sprinted through the finish line. (watch me at 3:24 below:)

 

 

Garmin Time – 29:24

Splits:
Mile 1 – 9:14
Mile 2 – 9:43
Mile 3 – 9:27
.14 – 7:37

The official time was listed as 29:45.  I came in 4th in my Age Group (50-59).  Darn if I didn’t have to stop to tie my shoe, I may have gotten an award.

Anyway, I waited for Mary to cross so I could take her picture. I was so proud of her. She did great…she is on the road to recovery!!

They had a lot of food – apples, bananas, bagels, cookies, Greek yogurt but we opted for the free Stewarts ice cream cones. YUM!!!

All in all, I enjoyed this race.  I didn’t expect to PR and it was so nice to run outside in the warm weather.  I even got some sunburn.

On the way home, I took a detour through Washington Park.  Although the tulips will be in peak bloom for next weekend, the weather was so gorgeous (and rain is predicted for most of the week), I decided t stop to take some pics. And I took about 40!!

Happy Running! Hope you had a nice weekend of running!

8 thoughts on “Sean’s Run 5K Race Report

  1. Darlene … my hero. You did a great job …. missed a prize by 10 seconds (one too many water stops). Thanks for being so encouraging and patient and kind. It was great to be back at it again … I’m on the mend and the (re) training begins … first I need to drop the winter weight (& not eat ice cream cones for lunch) xox

    Like

  2. Pingback: 5K Running : Does it hurt to run the day before a 5k race « The 5k Runner

  3. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday « My First 5K and More…

  4. Pingback: Sean’s 5K Run Race Report | My First 5K and More...

Leave a Reply

