Huma Chia Energy Gel review


mangohuma  f9c9223b29f208a554c1ed1d7c21e90f

As discussed in many of my previous, energy gels are my preferred choice of fuel when I run. I usually take one before any run that is longer than 40 minutes. If I am running a half marathon, I carry them with me to take during the race.

huma

A year ago, I read about Huma Chia Energy Gel on a blog but could not find it in a store. So I contacted the company. They sent me samples and asked me to write a review.

At the time, Huma Chia Energy Gel only came in two flavors: strawberry and apple-cinnamon.  I tried both flavors and liked them both, preferring the apple-cinnamon.

A year later, one thing has changed.  I no longer drink coffee.  I have pretty much given up caffeine. Gu is my energy gel of choice and only the peanut butter is without caffeine.

So I was very excited when I was contacted by Huma and asked if I would try their two new flavors – mango and blueberry.

Huma Chia Energy Gel is all-natural and does not contain caffeine!

huma natural

20140526-195325-71605791.jpg

On Monday, I had eaten breakfast about 3 hours before my run along Lake George so I took the Mango Huma Chia Energy Gel.  It tasted really good and gave me just the energy I needed.

20140528-161132-58292357.jpg

On Wednesday, I decided to run during my lunch break so I took the blueberry.  I hadn’t had lunch and the Huma Chia Energy Gel got me through the miles.

I love mangos in general and am so-so on blueberries.

But I liked both of Huma Chia Energy Gels’ new flavors. They tasted great. Mango, however, is my new favorite Huma Chia Energy Gel.

And I had no digestion problems with either of them!!

POSITIVES:

  • all natural ingredients (this is an important one)
  • the taste (you don’t even need to wash it down with water)
  • no caffeine

NEGATIVES:

  • cost – more expensive than the others
  • availability – not available in all states so you have to order online (& pay $4.99 shipping)
  • only 4 flavors – they taste good but fruity is not my preference.

So if you are looking for a tasty healthy alternative to your current energy gel, I would advise you to try Huma Chia Engery Gel!!

Be sure to check them out:

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Pinterest

Happy Running! Have you tried these gels? If so, what do you think?

runner-sig

_____________________
**Disclaimer: I was not compensated for my review. I contacted Huma and they provided me with two samples of Huma chia energy gel to try for my honest opinion.

3 thoughts on “Huma Chia Energy Gel review

  1. I wish they were available in stores–I’d really like to try them, but I’m not willing to pay almost $20 including shipping just to try something I might not like. Maybe next year they’ll be more widely available!

    Like

  2. I really like Huma. You can get a sampler which has 2 of every flavor & isn’t too bad. I seemed to best with Hammer so I’m sticking with it for this race, but I got a mixed box from Huma recently so I’ll be doing more experimenting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

