My bucket list race


Nope it’s not a Half Marathon.

It’s a 10-miler.  Rolling hills from Lake George Village to Bolton Landing. And it is THIS WEEKEND!!!!!!

Sunday, June 22, 201417 7:30 a.m.

I always wanted to do this race but:

  • June 2008, 2009, 2010 – 3.1 miles was the longest I was running back then
  • June 2011 – strained achilles
  • June 2012 – recovering from broken ankle surgery
  • June 2013 – broken foot (and I actually registered for the race 😦 )

Here are some views of the course (route 9N) from previous summer runs:

Route 9N So

8385125430103

Race Info:

Packet pick up: Sunday 6:00-7:15 a.m. at Lake George Firehouse on Ottawa Street.
Pre-Race Transportation: Race Day-Buses leave Bolton Landing, Town Hall Office , Main Street starting at 6:00 a.m.
Last bus leaves at 6:40 a.m. (I could sleep on my boat and take this bus to the start)

Race Start: 7:30 am at Lake George Firehouse on Ottawa Street.

Post Race Transportation: Buses leave from Main Street beginning 9:00 a.m. through post award ceremony 10:45 a.m. (I could sleep at home or at my friends’ in LG  and take this bus back to my car)
Awards: Awards ceremony 10:00 a.m. Overall top 3 male and female. Awards to fastest time for each individual age. (That’s different! Last year I was the only person with my age!!!!Raffle prizes.

The Course:

adc

yes, rolling hills – steeper the first half but not easy the 2nd half (I know)

When I am done with the race, I am next door to my boat. Perfect, right?

969362_10151946298834428_2146715968_n

Bolton Landing Marina

So I should be excited?

Yes. However, I am not really prepared.  I have been racing 5ks and working on my speed.  My running has been on mostly flat surfaces.

This is a HILLY TEN mile race.

So what do I do now?

I am healthy so I am DOING IT!

I don’t want to get injured so I will take it slow and probably walk  a lot of it.  But I will enjoy the scenery and finish.  Maybe I’ll be the only one in my Age Group. (They give award for EACH age!!)

Race Goals:

  • Have Fun.
  • Finish uninjured.
  • Not Finish Last.
  • Finish under 2 hours.

Happy Running! Do you have a bucket list race?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “My bucket list race

Leave a Reply

