Tuesdays on the Run: My first race


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is: My First Race

My first race was a 5K (Tim Moshier Memorial 5k ) on April 27, 2008.

I had joined No Boundaries (a weekly running group for beginning runners) and started running on April 1.  We were training for our first 5k which was to be on July 13 (The Boilermaker 5K.)

My longest run had been only 1.5 miles at the time but I decided to do this 5K race anyway. It was nearby and I could walk if I couldn’t run the whole thing.

Well, I did run the whole thing.  My time was 37:36 and I was thrilled.

After that race, I became hooked on racing and immediately signed up for more 5ks.

this photo is from my 3rd race a month later and 4 min. faster

Times have changed and I have gotten faster. Now I have a Garmin. I take photos. I wear running skirts, a race belt and compression socks. My friend MaryPat still races with me  from time to time and my friend Pat does not ( but moved to Florida.)

20140511-210428.jpg

6 years later and  more than 9 minutes faster

Happy Running! How did your first race go?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: My first race

  1. That’s great! Nine minutes faster is a lot! I honestly can’t even remember my first race – eek! I was probably in high school… but I guess it went okay since I’ve been running ever since 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

