Tuesdays on the Run: Safety


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is: Safety on the Run

Source: http://www.runnersworld.com/the-starting-line/11-tips-staying-safe-roads 

Leave word. Tell somebody or leave a note at home about where you plan to go and how long you plan to be out. That way your loved ones will know to come look for you if needed.

I always carry my cell phone so I can be contacted by my hubby.  I usually tell him that I am running & on the weekend where I am running.

running in Naples, Fla.

phone in my SPiBelt

Identify yourself. Run with proper ID, and carry a cell phone with emergency contacts taped to its back.

I usually wear my RoadID and carry my cellphone which has ICE as a contact.

20140614-161107-58267718

pink RoadID

Pretend you’re invisible. Don’t assume a driver sees you. In fact, imagine that a driver can’t see you, and behave accordingly.

Face traffic. It’s easier to see, and react to, oncoming cars. And cars will see you more clearly too.

I always run facing traffic and if possible on the sidewalk.

20140628-135014-49814555.jpg

nice sidewalk here

Make room. If traffic gets heavy, or the road narrows, be prepared to move onto the sidewalk or shoulder of the road.

Yes, have to do this a lot since most roads in my neighborhood do not have sidewalks or a wide shoulder.

20140724-085708-32228715.jpg

and a wide shoulder

Be seen. Wear high-visibility, brightly colored clothing. When out near or after sunset, reflective materials are a must. (If you don’t own reflective clothing, a lightweight reflective vest is a great option.) And use a headlamp or handheld light so you can see where you’re going, and drivers can see you. The light should have a bright LED (drivers see blinking red as a hazard).

When it is dark, I wear bright colors and carry a flashlight.  I also run on the sidewalk or on under street lamps.  I never run on street that have no lights.

my favorite nighttime jacket

Unplug your ears. Avoid using iPods or wearing headphones—you need to be able to hear approaching vehicles. If you do use headphones, run with the volume low and just one earbud in.

I do wear earplugs but I keep the volume low.

Watch the hills. When they crest hills, drivers’ vision can suddenly be impaired by factors like sun glare or backdrops.

Beware of high-risk drivers. Steer clear of potential problem areas like entrances to parking lots, bars, and restaurants, where there may be heavy traffic.

Watch for early birds and night owls. At odd hours be extra careful. Early in the morning and very late at night, people may be overtired and not as attentive.

Mind your manners. At a stop sign or light, wait for the driver to wave you through—then acknowledge with your own polite wave. That acknowledgement will make the driver feel more inclined to do it again for the next walker or runner. Use hand signals (as you would on a bicycle) to show which way you plan to turn.

You can never assume that a driver sees you. I always wait at a driveway or corner to be waved on.

_____________

I’d like to add:

Do not run in isolated places where there are no other runners or shady people hang out.

I love to run on the bike trails but I would never run on the one along the Hudson in the evening or even in the middle of the day in the winter when no one else is running, walking or biking.

20140719-105835-39515064.jpg

Sat am is a great time to run on the bike paths

Happy Running! What do you do to stay safe while running?

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Safety

  1. I love the tips, especially the one about always assuming that drivers don’t see you! That advice has saved me from being hit a number of times. In a car and runner collision, the runner always loses! Thanks for linking up with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

