Another Race!


ccc14

When you run half marathons, a 10k shouldn’t be a big deal.

But it is.

These days even a 5K seems like a lot of work. Maybe it’s the heat and humidity but 6.2 hilly miles won’t be a picnic.

I ran this race 2 years ago as my first 10k ever.  I finished at 1:09:07 but I was still recovering from ankle surgery. (My current 10K PR is 1:00:51)

The course is out and back – which means the same hills both ways.

10473168_305908679574878_277771612731589142_n

along the lake most of the way

no flat sections!

I don’t run many 10ks.  I usually train for half marathons by running long on the weekend.  With 5Ks, I just wing it.  But for 10ks, you want to run fast but not burn out.  So who knows how this will go.  I will try to go out slow and save some for the second half.

Anyway, I am looking forward to this race because you run along Lake George.  There is a great BBQ at the end and you can swim in the lake at the beach if you want.  I also know lots of women who are running the Half Marathon as a training run for an upcoming marathon. (Since the half marathon starts an hour before the 10k, they may finish before me.) It will be fun to see them again.

Goals:

  • Run more than walk
  • Pace under 10 min/mile for most miles
  • Course PR (under 1:09)
  • Finish strong and uninjured
  • Enjoy the race

Happy Running! Do you run 10ks often?  Do you train for them?

runner-sig

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Another Race!

  1. sounds like a fun race — good luck! Lake George is so pretty. i rarely ever run 10Ks — i think the only 3 i’ve ever done were the Troy Turkey trots. enjoy!

    Like

  2. I think I’ve only done 2 10ks so far – there aren’t a lot of them around. But I like the distance. You don’t really have to carry water with you. I’m assuming they won’t run out for slow runners like me. 🙂 I am definitely not planning/expecting a PR. I *might* even take pictures (probably not, but it would be nice to; we spent many vacations in lake George when I was growing up, but I haven’t been there in 6 years). Hoping this might convince my husband it’s not a bad place to go once in a while. I’m eyeing another 10k in Chesterton in September.

    Like

    • I’ve done that 10K…it is very hilly. But I am busy that day or I would run it. I’m doing one on Sept 13 at the Great Escape in Lake George.

      Like

Leave a Reply

