Running & tennis Weekend


As I mentioned last week, this past weekend was to be a NO RACE, NO BOATING weekend.

Racing and boating are my two most favorite things to do but nevertheless, I had a great weekend.

I drove up North to my friend’s house in Chestertown on the Schroon River where my tennis friends would be gathering.

When we got there Saturday morning, the courts were wet from Friday night’s rain.

IMG_3448

Luckily, the courts dried quickly and we were able to play.  There were 12 of us and we played for hours just rotating partners.

IMG_3452I don’t play often but when I do, I realize how much fun it is and how great it is to spend time with these ladies (whom I don’t see often.)

After tennis, we had lunch and some of us went for a walk.

IMG_3514

the local spring

the local spring

The rest of the afternoon was spent reading, knitting, chatting and catching up. Then we went out to a local restaurant for a late dinner.

the knitters

the knitters

Many of the ladies went home that night so there was enough room for me to sleep over (instead of sleeping on my boat.)

IMG_3459

breakfast view

I got up early Sunday morning in order to squeeze in a run before tennis.

And it was the best one I’ve had in a long time.

IMG_3464

The weather was PERFECT – not too warm, no humidity and blue skies.

IMG_3483

I started on my usual route with a few detours.IMG_3468 IMG_3466 IMG_3467 But rather than running to Brant Lake as I did the last time I was here, I continued North running along the river.IMG_3486 IMG_3489 I actually felt like I could run forever but I had to get back since some of the women were probably waiting to play tennis.IMG_3492I worked up an appetite after 5 miles and had breakfast #2 (blueberry french toast & bacon) before heading back to the tennis courts.

It was only 4 of us this time but we had a blast.

10639538_10153088604774428_3221385705580566204_n

We played 3 set and the last one ended in a tie. So we celebrated by going out for ice cream (of course.)

The rest of the afternoon was spent with a drive to Brant lake and some reading & relaxing before I drove to the marina to meet my hubby for dinner. (He had spent the weekend on the boat with his guy friends.)

Not my usual summer weekend but it certainly was enjoyable.

Happy Running! How was your weekend?

runner-sig

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

