Tuesdays on the Run: Dressing in Costume


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Racing in Costume.  Yay or Nay? 

I’d say: It depends on the race and if you are racing with someone who is dressing up.

For me, it’s mostly a “No.”

I haven’t done any Disney races but even so I’m not sure if I would make the effort.

Also I also always go to races alone (although I usually know people at the race.)

I did dress up for a Halloween-themed race and most runners did not.

I am a “parrot head”

I’ve added some holiday-related accessories to my racing outfits from time to time.

I do, however,  love seeing other racers who dress up.  I admire their enthusiasm and creativity.

Are they the cutest? from http://littlefruitfly.blogspot.com 


Tips on Racing in Costume:
  • Try out your costume before the race.  In other words, make sure that it is comfortable to run in. Wear breathable material.  Avoid masks & hats that fall off.
  • Wear what you are comfortable wearing.  Wear a costume because you really want to not because you think everyone else will be.
  • If possible, coordinate your costume with a friend. It’s more fun that way.
  • Be prepared to sacrifice PRs for racing costumes. You’ll want to take advantage of those photo ops.

Happy Running!  Do you race in costume?

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Dressing in Costume

  1. Good point on the time adjustment for photo ops! I love running in costume, but it has to be based around running gear because comfort is still super important. Thanks for linking up with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

