One last weekend on the river


For the third time this summer, I went up to Chestertown to my friend’s house on the Schroon River.

The first two times, I went up to spend time with my tennis friends. So I played tennis.

and I got to run on some beautiful scenic routes.

This time, it was our Mah Jongg weekend. It is usually later in September when the foliage is at peak but the owner of the house will be away then.

There was some overlap of groups.  On Saturday, some of the mah jongg ladies played tennis.  I had a race so I went up later in the day.

IMG_3644-0

I am making a kid’s hat

We played some mah jongg, watched the US Open on TV, knitted and then we went out to dinner.

IMG_3669

There was an awesome sunset which meant that the next day’s weather would be great.

IMG_3625

it looked much better than the photo – “Red skies at night, sailor’s delight…”

Two ladies left and the rest of us played some more mah jongg and watched a chick flick on TV before hitting the hay.

IMG_3626

Sunday morning before the rest of the group (4 more ladies) arrived, I decided to go for a run. It was cool (fall-like) but sunny.  How could I resist?!

IMG_3630

love wearing this shirt when I run along the Schroon

I enjoyed the route that I ran last time that I repeated it in the opposite direction.

IMG_3632

Although you are running along the road, you hardly ever see a car.

IMG_3641

I felt like I could run forever, but I knew that I had to get back, in case everyone else was finished playing tennis.

Although I had breakfast before I left for my run, I had had some leftover bacon and eggs. Since no one was back, I decided to run to the tennis courts and watch my friends play.

IMG_3634

The weather was absolutely perfect.  Too bad it wasn’t like this for the 5k race the day before.

Anyway, I completed 7.5 leisurely miles.  I was very happy.

When we got back, the rest of the group had arrived, so we ate big lunch on the deck.

IMG_3652

Then we went to a walk. The usual 40 minute loop.

IMG_3663

Finally it was time to play mah jongg again.

IMG_3654

Since the weather was so beautiful, one group would take a break to sit outside.

IMG_3665

reading break

Eventually it was time to call it a day.  But a fun time was had by all.

IMG_3653

Normally I would be back here in 2 weeks to run the Helper’s Fund 10K but I am busy that day.  Hopefully I can squeeze in another visit to the Adirondacks.

On the way home, I stopped off at our marina.  My hubby had spent the day on Lake George and we had decided to meet for dinner.  After all the eating that took place during the weekend, I only ordered soup & a salad. (I didn’t even have ice cream.)

Happy Running! How was your weekend?  Are you enjoying cooler temps?

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “One last weekend on the river

  1. sounds like a fun weekend. love the Adirondacks, but i have no idea what mah jonggg is. i was in Dallas this past wknd visiting my cousin, which was a ton of fun. haven’t been doing much running due to a miserable tendonitis injury, but hoping to get a run in tonight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

