Pink or blue?


No, I am NOT having a baby or at my age, a grandchild.

It’s about racing for a charity.

This Saturday, there is a 5k that I have done for the past 6 years.  I even ran it with a stress fracture. The race used to take place the first weekend in October. Many years I ran it as part of a team.

at the Race for the Cure in 2013

1 in 8 women will be stricken with breast cancer in her lifetime. In fact, I have 9 friends who have all battled this horrible disease (if you read my blog, you may recognize them):

  • Top Row: Judy, Mary Ann, Mary M. Ava
  • Middle Row: Sally, Phyllis, Maria, Sue
  • Bottom Row: Mary W.

mw

The Komen Northeastern New York Race for the Cure® raises money to fund education, screening & treatment programs for these women & supports the national search for a cure.

On Sunday, there is the Teal Ribbon 5k Run/Walk, coordinated by Caring Together, Inc. which seeks to raise awareness of ovarian cancer and raise funds in support of research toward developing an early detection test as well as more effective treatment options for women with recurrent ovarian cancer.

I ran this race my first year of running but not since.

I have a college friend who has had 2 bouts with ovarian cancer and has a team walking in this race. Two people from work are volunteering and I know some others who are running it.

yes, I do have teal-colored running clothes

Both races support causes that I feel strongly about. (There are at least 6 other races that also support important charities this weekend.)

The races both take place in Albany.  The Race for the Cure has the same course as the Freihofer’s and will probably have 4000 runners.  The Teal race will have much fewer (about 300) and the course is 2 loops in Washington Park.

So I haven’t decided yet.  I’m leaning toward the Teal Ribbon….

I forgot to mention that the reason that I am free this weekend is that a race that I signed up for in Lake George was cancelled.

Biggest Loser race did not have enough interest -Darn!

Happy Running!  Do you ever choose your races based on the charity?

runner-sig

One thought on “Pink or blue?

  1. Have you decided?

    I actually don’t know anyone who has had ovarian cancer (not yet, anyway), but breast cancer hits closer to home: both my mom & MIL are survivors, along with various friends.

    I have done race for the cure, but not this year.

    Sounds like you would prefer the smaller race & have ties there, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

