My First Group Run


I haven’t participated in a training group since 2008 when I started training for my first 5k with the No Boundaries program.

I’ve talked to Hollys at several races and she recommended this group.

maybe that’s what we were talking about here?

Then at my last race when I bumped into Gina, an old colleague, she encouraged me to join too.

IMG_3707

Here is the schedule:

Monday, September 22 – Monday November 24

  • Mondays: 5:30 p.m. at Prospect Park, Troy (Note: From November 10th on, Monday night workouts will be at RPI in Troy. Meeting time is 5:30p.
  • Saturdays: 8:30 a.m. at Knickerbocker Park, Troy

Prospect Park is about a half hour from my work. I was worried about getting caught in rush hour traffic. But I got there plenty early.

It was quite chilly and breezy.  I was freezing waiting for the training to start. (I even switched to capris from a skirt and added a jacket.)

I talked with Hollys and her friends while we waited.

Everyone started together.  There were 3 groups: 5k beginners, 5k intermediate and 10K.

After some dynamic stretches, we took off in our separate groups. Gina got there just in time and I wound up running with her and her friends the whole time.

We chatted so it made the running go by quickly.

We ran 2 loops of the park which happens to be very hilly.  I didn’t wear a watch so I have no idea about my pace or distance but I would guess that it was close to 3 miles. I even warmed up and took off my jacket and tied it around my waist.

I ran most of run. I just walked a little up one of the hills but then I passed them on the downhill.

I thoroughly enjoyed the run.

Unfortunately, I have races almost all the Saturdays so I can only do the Monday runs.

© Jim Flosdorf, 2001 – view of Troy from the park

Looking forward to my next group run!

Happy Running! Have you trained for a race as part of a group?

runner-sig

One thought on “My First Group Run

  1. Well you know I love my running group! I hope you have fun with this one, although I’m still trying to wrap my head around being able to run at 5:30 PM – it’s still deathly hot (and sunny) at that time out here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

