Apple Run 5K race report


apple run

I continue on my streak of running new races.  This was another.  It was recommended to me by the ladies that I met at the Spring Run Off 5k/10k race.

Ilsa & Sue at the Spring Run Off pre-race dinner

All I knew from the website was that it was a looped, flat certified course.

apple run course

I have been very lucky with weather.  All of my races have had nice weather (except for the Love Run monsoon).  It was bound to happen.  Rain was predicted for the morning of this race.

Sue won our age group last year (with 28:02) so she is my competition.  On a good day, I may beat her but who knows.  Not every race can be as good as my last one (27:11).

here is Sue at last year’s Apple Run

I was still on a high from the PR in my last race so I didn’t care if I got another….yet.

I just wanted to have a fun race.

I worked all day yesterday and didn’t have time to eat much, then I did some machines at the gym, rushed home and went to play mah jongg.  I went to bed much too late and woke up hungry and TIRED!! Oh well, not every race can be a fast one…

It rained all night and was pouring when I got up.  I really didn’t want to run in the rain but I knew I would at least go to the race.

It took about 45 minutes to get there and it was raining the whole way.  I contemplated just getting my shirt, waiting inside and then going out with an umbrella to cheer on the die hard runners.

But as soon as I arrived, IT STOPPED RAINING!

I hoped that this dry spell would last until the race ended…

10357185_10153193931984428_7343606824457466028_n

I went inside the school to get my race packet… quite a nice bit of swag for a local race.

IMG_3927

glasses are so practical…there was a bunch of other stuff too.

I immediately bumped into Sue and Ilsa…the nicest ladies. We chatted for awhile. Isla invited me to do a race with her in Fairfiled, CT some time (You know I may do it!!)

I also saw Alice & Nancy, the runners in my AG that I meet at many of the races I run. Again, it was nice to run a race that has real bathrooms!

Soon, it was time to line up outside with the 300 or so other runners to start the race. And it was still dry!! I had worn a jacket because it was chilly when I arrived but decided to leave it behind. (Good move!)

I started with Sue & Ilsa but didn’t stay with them very long.  Sue yelled to me: “Go ahead!” so I did.

The course was pretty flat.  I don’t remember much about it so I guess it wasn’t scenic or very memorable.

I wasn’t feeling very fast and my plan was to run slower than last week and try to run the whole thing without stopping.

I managed to pass the first water stop and then tried not to walk until mile 2 but when I got there, I was still running.  The weather was the perfect temperature but still very HUMID!

I felt myself slowing down and probably should have walked since it worked for me last week.  Eventually I did walk…close to the mile 3 sign.  I thought it would give me a boost to finish strong.

Apple Run - October

happy to be done!

I crossed at 27:47.  Not a PR but a decent time.  I definitely didn’t feel as sick as last week… I was even hungry.

IMG_3898

Sue cheering on the runners

Sue finished about a minute later and we waited for Ilsa to finish.

IMG_3899

she’s 70 and beating a guy half her age…go Ilsa!

Then we went inside to get something to eat…there was fruit, bagels and even pizza.

We waited for the results.  I won first, Sue second and Isla first, as well.  We were Happy Ladies 🙂

IMG_3901

my first plaque

We said out good-byes and hoped to run again together.

I am happy that I ran this race…very happy that it didn’t rain.  I think this race has been added to my favorite races list.

My race goals were almost the same as all my other 5Ks:

  • run each mile under 10 min. YES! even mile 1 under 9 min!!!!
  • run the whole thing.  NO. I walked once.
  • win a AG award.  YES! 1st.
  • have fun & stay healthy. YES!

Race Splits:

mile 1- 8:49
mile 2 – 9:02
mile 3 – 9:07 (walked)
.14 – 7:34

After the race, since it still wasn’t raining, I decided to run some more miles.  I drove to the closer place that I do my long runs – Mohawk Towpath Byway.

IMG_3907-0

It was very cloudy and seemed like it could rain at any moment.  I kept my fingers crossed that I could at least run 5 more miles.

IMG_3903-0

It was still pretty despite the clouds.  In a few more weeks, the foliage will be peak. I ran in the short direction and turned around.

IMG_3912

Then I ran on the road, taking my detours…through a park and then around the grounds what used to be a restaurant (Krause’s) that catered large events.

IMG_3914

It is now boarded up and closed. Last year, a duathlon took place here.

IMG_3916

I ran as far as the marina taking my time since if it started to rain, I would have to run without stopping.

IMG_3919

I was at 4.25 miles before I turned around and it still wasn’t raining.

IMG_3917

I continued back without the detours and completed 6.9 miles.  That made 10 miles for the day!  This was one contented runner.

IMG_3920

Finally it was starting to rain.  I had a coupon for a free cider donut and a free apple at Fo-Castle Farms so I headed back there now that I was finished running.  I used to go here all to time to pick apples but haven’t been in years.

IMG_3925

As they expected. I also bought a bag of apples, some fresh cider and …

IMG_3924

I love pumpkin everything, Downton Abbey & tea…perfect!

At this point, it was raining hard so I headed home.

Happy Running!  How was your weekend? Did you run or race?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “Apple Run 5K race report

  1. You are fast these days. I am thrilled if I am under 30. I have a 5K this weekend. First one in awhile. Like the glass and donuts after!

    Like

  2. Great job! Your pictures are great. Not every race is a PR. You did awesome. Gosh I love apples! ha ha I crave an apple after races lately. Isn’t that weird? Anyway…. great work!

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2014: My Year in Racing | My First 5K and More...

Leave a Reply

