Tuesdays on the Run: Running with a Group


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Your Choice

I chose Running with a Group

  • In 2010, I was asked to be part of a small group by The Happy Runner who wanted to encourage some friends to start running. We ran together every month until the Freihofer’s Run for Women 5K that year.  The group has grown immensely and many of them still run together.  I see them at races but don’t run with them since they run longer and faster and don’t live nearby. But it was a very positive experience.  These ladies are awesome.

  • When I was training for the Love Run in March, I did several of my long runs with the ladies in the photo below  They were training for their first half.  Because they are faster and didn’t walk during their runs, it helped me a lot and running with someone else made the miles less painful. If we sign up for another destination half, I would like to run with them again.

  • Two people at two different races recommended this running group.

It meets on Mondays at 5:30 p.m. at Prospect Park, Troy (From November 10th on, Monday night workouts will be at RPI in Troy)  and on Saturdays at  8:30 a.m. at Knickerbocker Park, Troy. (Unfortunately, I have races almost all the Saturdays so I can only do the Monday runs.)

There are 3 groups: 5k beginners, 5k intermediate and 10K. Everyone starts together.  After some dynamic stretches, we take off in our separate groups.

So far, I have gone to three Monday group runs and have enjoyed them all.

The first week, we ran 2 loops of the park which happens to be very hilly.  I chatted with a former co-worker and her friends and this made the hills bearable.  For the most part, we ran at the same speed (I am slower on the uphills and faster on the downhills.)

The second week, I met some new runners and they were super nice. We were short one leader so it was confusing on what we were doing. We were supposed running intervals but not really timing it well and not turning around when we should have.  It was a similar distance to the first week.

The third week, we had things organized.  After our warm-up, we ran at race pace for 2 minutes and then jogged for 1 minute.  We did this 6 times.  We looped around so that everyone stayed together so we could hear the times.  The hills are tough but I felt better each time I ran up them.  Everyone was running close to the same speed and you always seemed to be running with someone new each lap. Then we finished with another lap for about a mile longer than the previous two weeks.

view from the park of Troy..soon we will be watching the sun set

It definitely is motivating to be around people who are enthusiastic about the same thing – RUNNING.

They also run a training group in the spring to train for the Freihofer’s race.  I may join that….now that I have realized the value of running with a group…

  • Meet new people
  • Learn new things
  • Have a coach
  • Do drills
  • Run on hills
  • Run with at a faster, more consistent pace
  • Improve motivation

Happy Running!  What is your experience with group running?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Running with a Group

  1. I am so intimidated by the idea of running in a group but I know that I’d really love it if I could get brave enough to do it! Great reasons! Thanks for linking up with us today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

