Friday Five: Favorite fuel/foods


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is Five Favorite Fuel/Foods for Fitness/Running/Training

1. Oatmeal or Cream of Wheat

IMG_3945

This is what I eat for breakfast before every race. Sometimes I make instant and sometimes I make the real stuff.  My favorite flavor is maple or brown sugar cinnamon.

2. Protein Bars

If I run after work, I usually eat one of these before I run. My favorites are Balance bar (yogurt honey peanut) and Kind (vanilla blueberry).

3. Energy Gels

I love salted caramel and peanut butter. Now there are 2 new ones – chocolate peanut butter & root beer!!

I usually take one GU before a race and every 4 miles during a long run or race. I have never had any stomach issues with GU,

4. H20

Just plain water…nothing added.  And usually from the tap.

5. Chocolate milk

Not fuel but refuel.

For some reason, after a race, this is the only thing I can eat/drink right away.  It doesn’t upset my stomach.

Happy Running! What are you favorite fuel/foods for fitness/running/training?

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “Friday Five: Favorite fuel/foods

Leave a Reply

