Friday Five: Reasons to race


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is Five Reasons to Race.

running even while on a tennis vacation in Fla.

1.  Racing keeps me running. I know that I cannot slack off. If I do, then the race will be painful (physically and mentally).

before the start of a half marathon

2. I usually run alone and when I run a race, I see and meet other runners. So much more enjoyable.

my first 5k under 30 min after being injured

3. I am competitive so when I run a race, I don’t stop and walk as much and I run faster.

smiling even though running with a stress fracture

4. I only get that runner’s high when I cross a finish line in a race.

got to see Palm Springs. CA and my friend Mary

5. Racing gives me the excuse to see new places and visit old friends.

Speaking of races, 2 days until…

10-26-14 in NJ

Bib#: 1697

Happy Running! Why do you race?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Friday Five: Reasons to race

  1. fun post! i run races to have goals to work toward, to push myself to greater lengths, and because i really enjoy the whole atmosphere on race day and the feeling of being part of such a world of runners. i didn’t know about this Friday Five linkup, as i’ve just been doing my own for so long! i should check it out. thx!

    Like

Leave a Reply

