Tuesdays on the Run: Cold Weather Running


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Cold Weather Running

I must say that I HATE the cold.  I much prefer running in the heat but living in the Northeast, the cold arrives too soon and lasts too long.

I think that about sums things up.

Layers keep you warm but remember not to dress too warmly.  If it is 20 degrees, dress for 40. The bottom layer should be breathable.  You will sweat no matter how cold it is. My middle layer is usually a fleece vest and for the outside layer, I wear a windbreaker.

HMRRC 7K

I always wear tights with a skirt over them.

Wear wool socks, gloves and a hat.  My head, hands and feet are what gets cold first.

HMRRC 15K

The infographic below is very helpful:

or use this tool that will suggest what to wear, based on the info you input – http://www.runnersworld.com/what-to-wear

If you run when it is dark, wear light colors, carry a flashlight or wear a head lamp or run where there are lights.

Running on Nisky Bike Trail

If it is snowing, wear Yak Trax, go slower and watch for icy patches.

I usually care what I wear in the warmer months. But in the winter, not so much. I try not to spend much money on winter running clothes. I wear race shirts and windbreakers.  I buy dollar store gloves and buy my tights and skirts in Walmart and Target.

The important things is to just get out and RUN!

Remember:

beasts

Happy Running!  Do you like running during the cold weather months?

runner-sig

8 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Cold Weather Running

  1. Wow, all you Northern runners are just amazing! Living in Florida, I just don’t run until the temps are over 45 at least and usually 50, which just requires me to wait until 3pm on the coldest days! Thanks for linking up with us today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

