Friday Five: Staying healthy & on track during the holidays


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mar at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is Staying healthy & on track during the holidays

1.  Bring healthy snacks to work. If you are hungry, you will be tempted to eat something unhealthy. This is what I always have in my lunch bag everyday.

IMG_4210
IMG_4209

2. Walk whenever you can. That means taking the stairs rather than the elevator. Eat a quick lunch and go for a walk.  Take a walk after dinner.

IMG_3963

3. Sign up for a race.  If you do, you will be motivated to get out and run. Running burns calories, right?

IMG_4023

4. Do some kind of cross-training activity that you enjoy– work out, do yoga, pilates, zumba, play tennis or whatever you can to stay active.

IMG_3982

5.Get on the scale. I rarely get on the scale but I try to weigh myself more frequently during the holidays. Nothing like several lbs gained to make me lose my appetite.

Will I cheat?  Of course but I try to make them worthwhile cheats on special occasions. (I have a weakness for desserts…)

holidayparty2013 003

christmas cookie exchange at work

Happy Running! How do you stay healthy & on track during the holidays?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “Friday Five: Staying healthy & on track during the holidays

  1. Oh, those desserts look YUMMY!

    So, I am on team moderation, too.To be honest, I don’t get too crazy over the “big” meals. Even on Thanksgiving, I find it pretty doable to eat normal portions, and not get to the elastic-waisted “eating'” pants phase.

    Definitely signed up for tons of races this holiday season! No time to slack off now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

