Tuesdays on the Run: Race Recovery


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Race Recovery

I don’t run marathons so I can only speak about recovering from a 10 mile race or a half marathon.

  • Rehydrate – I prefer just plain water.

20140623-082549-30349475.jpg

  • Refuel – Chocolate milk is the best…then a carb like a bagel or a pastry.

20140531-145053-53453652.jpg

IMG_3987

  • Compression – If you don’t run in them, put them on after. (I always wear them to run.)

20140713-140835-50915896.jpg

  • Ice – I don’t do ice baths but if cold water is nearby…
aaaahhh

aaaahhh

20140622-171425-62065700.jpg

  • Stretch – I’m not good about this…. but I like to walk around after so my legs don’t stiffen up. When you get home, use a foam roller, if necessary or even better, get a massage.

  • Rest – Don’t run for several days. Then ease back into it slowly.

Happy Running!  How do you recover after a race?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Race Recovery

  1. I love compression socks and I was too tired, wet and cold after Wine & Dine to struggle into them in the bathroom at Epcot and I can tell the difference! My calves are so sore and that’s not normal for me post race. Great tips and thanks for linking up with us today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

