Staying Motivated


Now that the weather is getting colder, it is getting harder and harder to want to go out and run…

Here are some challenges that may help you:

MCMMama-novembermileage

Details:

  • Choose the number of miles you plan to run this month (whatever number seems right for YOU.) I chose 80.
  • Run your miles, at whatever speed and whatever combination of distances.
  • Be entered into a random drawing for prizes.  Prizes won’t be huge –  some socks, nuun, Gu, etc.
  • Be proud of your accomplishment!

Spreadsheet is here. If you aren’t there, feel free to add yourself and your info. Also, feel free to add your twitter or blog information. If you have issues, email  mcmmamaruns@gmail.com and she’ll add you.

Holiday Sweat Challenge 2014

This 6 week health & fitness challenge is meant to help you get a jump start on feeling great for the New Year or stay on track with fitness/clean eating goals.

It’s a friendly competition to exercise, eat healthy and even do a little soul work. There are different fitness levels, so everybody can compete with a multitude of ways to earn points.

When: Nov 24 – Jan 5
Cost: $16

For less than the cost of a gym membership:

  • 3 emails a week: Clean eating tips/recipes/guides + Motivation + Workouts
  • Content created JUST for you from registered dieticians, world class running coaches, personal trainers and physical therapists {nothing repeated from previous years}
  • Facebook support group – This group is like no other! Everyone checks in daily and provides a true support system
  • Over $3,000 in prizes {Lorna Jane, Vega, Milestone Jewelry and more to be announced}

The basics of how it works:

  • Earn points for being active
  • Earn points for eating your veggies
  • Compete against people at the same level as you
  • Enjoy an awesome support network
  • Have questions answered by experts
  • Meet other like minded folks to help you stay on track
  • Win Prizes!!
  • Clean Eating Holiday Menu ideas

– See more at: http://www.runtothefinish.com/#sthash.yWyJcdrq.dpuf

Of course, you can sign up for RACE to stay motivated.

If you like bling, donating to a charity and don’t want to commit to a race day, why not sign up for a Virtual Race:

Run for someone else.  John Anthony is my biggest motivator.

1502405_885987258080719_3751674464890385009_o

thumbs up on my race!

 

This is what he wrote me last Sunday:

Happy Sunday Mrs Darlene !! While you were off setting your PR at the 15K race today I was laying around chilling on my top bunk finishing up my Jtube feeds. My mom , brother, and sister were getting ready and then went to church and I played Temple Run on my Dad’s phone We should know in a couple weeks after the last round of testing results are back if my immune system will tolerate me going around people or if I will need to start IVIG. I am so proud of you for setting a PR!!! Doesn’t that mean you have now set a NEW PR for the 5,10,&15K runs?!?! WHOA. You really are the world’s best runner thank you so much for running for me and always being so thoughtful sending me shirts , sometimes medals and other things . I am a very blessed boy. We love you!

Here is the message I got early this morning:

Happy Saturday, Mrs Darlene!!! My overnight feeds didn’t go too hot last night so today is a lazy day trying to finish up the half liter that was left. I am supposed to get 1000-1600 milliliters per day of formula via J tube and then another 1400-2000 in fluids both orally and through my GJ. That’s for both calories and fluid replacement for my dysautonomia/PoTS/mito/FTT/metabolic disorder. Due to my gastroparesis though its hard to meet that requirements. I am fortunate to get 1500 ml TOTAL. I hope you are having a great weekend and staying warm. It’s cold for us Georgia folks. My momma said it was 30 last night and is supposed to be in the high teens in a couple days. Brrrrrrrr Thank you for running for me!

Of course, it was cold and windy but I went out and ran for him!

Happy Running! What will keep you running during the colder weather?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “Staying Motivated

  1. Hi Darlene! Thank you so much for the shout out for Fit, Fab & Lean virtual races! We really appreciate the social love! 🙂 I look forward to checking out your blog! Happy trails my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

