I Love New York!


It’s no secret.  I love New York.

I have been lucky to get down to the city several times this past year –January,  June, September &  in October twice (Oct 4 & Oct 25).

But, of course, I had to visit during the holiday season.

Last year, my friends, Mary Pat, Eileen & I did the typical tourist things.

nyc 12-413 (3)  nyc 12-413 (7) 20131205-102259.jpg  nyc 12-413 (13)

This year, our group grew and there were six of us.

We took the Megabus down. It was drizzly and cloudy but not that cold so we walked to the restaurant with a detour to Bryant Park.

IMG_4448-0

 Then we had a nice lunch – I had a delicious soup, half a sandwich and a awesome pumpkin gelato for dessert.

IMG_4450-0

Then we went to a show. (It was raining and a perfect time to spend a few hours indoors.)

The show was very enjoyable.  Idina Menzel was awesome.  It was a little redundant and long but still very good.

IMG_4453

photo op at Times Square

After the show we walked around trying to see all the window displays –  Sak’s, Macy’s etc. before catching our train home. The rain had stopped and it was warmer than before the show,

But it was the night of the lighting of the Christmas tree in Rockefeller Center and it was soooooo crowded so we skipped Saks and walked down 6th Ave on our way to Macys.

IMG_4457-0

IMG_4456

IMG_4455

We had dinner in Penn Station while we waited for our train home.  We all lamented about how fast the day went and how we can’t wait to come back to NYC.

It was a great day. (Almost as much fun as my day running in Central Park.)

Happy Running! What is a must-do during the holidays for you?

runner-sig

10 thoughts on “I Love New York!

  1. I’d love to see NY during the holidays! I’ve been a few times but mostly spring or summer trips. My favorite holiday tradition is going around my old neighborhood from my childhood and looking at all the beautiful lights. They really so some awesome displays there. Happy holidays 🙂

    Like

  2. yayyyyy i love to read about people enjoying my city! glad you had such a great day. i have to admit that Idina Menzel’s voice isn’t my fave, but i’m sure she did a great job. love seeing all these holiday in NYC pix!

    Like

Leave a Reply

