Friday Five – Favorites


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is Friday Favorites:

Here are my five of my running-related favorites – the cold weather version: (the last time I did this theme was in July)

1. Favorite Race(s) 

Stockade-athon – this a is a very popular local 15k race.  I liked it a lot but now that it changed its course, I like it even more.  The course is varied… running through a park, cemetery, bike path, historic parts of town. It is challenging but you don’t have to train as much as for a half marathon. 

IMG_4278

Troy Turkey Trot 10K – this is also a very popular local race. I’ve only run it once but it is already one of my favorites. I liked participating in a training group for the race. It is well-organized with a lot of support from the town.

10K - 57:03 - PR

2. Favorite Apparel –

Compression Socks – Still.  I wear them to insure that my legs don’t get tired but now that it’s colder, I have worn them with skirts on shorter runs to keep warm and with capris so I can hold off wearing tights as long as possible.

Stockadeathon - November

IMG_4379

Hats – in the warmer months, I wear baseball caps to keep my unruly hair off my neck and the sun off my face.  Now I wear them to keep warm.  And I have already had to switch to beanie hats.

ttt2

IMG_4414

3. Favorite Shoes – it’s no secret that I am fickle when it comes to shoe brands.  I have worn them all.  Currently my New Balance are second to my Mizuno Wave Rider 18s.  It helps that I have recently run several PRs in them.

4. Favorite Fuel – 

Gu – still my favorite for before and during – peanut butter, salted caramel or root beer. It doesn’t mess with my stomach so why change.

Chocolate Milk –  for after.  I bring some with me to have after a long run or a race.

5. Favorite Place(s) to Run – 

Nisky Bike Path is my new favorite place to run on the weekend. It is scenic with river views, flat and you usually see many walkers, bikers and runners on it.

IMG_4306

Washington Park is my go to place after work.  It has hills and scenic views of the lake.  I love the gardens in the spring and the Christmas Lights right now.

960090_10152426928399428_2134523640_n

IMG_3608

Happy Running! What are some of your favorites?

runner-sig

10 thoughts on “Friday Five – Favorites

  1. i haven’t tried the pb Gu but i’m sure i’d love it, as i love all things peanut butter. i only like the vanilla bean one so far, so hopefully this will change that. some of my running faves: under armour and new balance gear, and new balance and saucony shoes. and headbands!!

    Like

  2. Skirtsport skirts. Turbo truffles – for the chocolate/caffeine lovers (I only drink 2 mugs of green tea a day & find the caffeine in a race doesn’t hurt & maybe helps). Hammer Nutrition products (I like the recovery bars after a race). And my beloved banana chocolate chip pancakes topped with pocket fuel — looking forward to those for lunch tomorrow (not looking forward to the forecast!).

    Like

  3. I also love chocolate milk! I was thrilled to see it served in the recovery area at last Sunday’s Seattle Half-Marathon. Some of my other running favorites: Oiselle Distance shorts, Mizuno Wave Inspires, and my Garmin Forerunner 220.

    Like

Leave a Reply

