Friday Five – Things I like about my favorite city


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is 5 things I like about my favorite city.

Yes, NYC is my favorite city and I am lucky to live a train or bus ride away.

Here are 5 things I love about NYC:

1.  Restaurants 

20131103-085928.jpg

in Chelsea

IMG_1258

French Restaurant in the Village

I love to eat out. I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad meal in NYC.

on Park Ave

in the theatre district

in Central Park

brunch at Gordon Ransey's The Maze restaurant

at Gordon Ransey’s The Maze restaurant

2. Theater

There’s nothing like Broadway.  I usually go once a year. I have seen some great shows. Among my favorites are Les Miz, Kinky Boots, Jersey Boys, Wicked, Once, Billy Elliot, Lion King…

going to NYC to see "Once" on Broadway

3. Museums

I love French art especially the Impressionists. Outside of Paris, there’s no better place to see these paintings than the Metropolitan Museum (above) or the Modern Art Museum (below).

4. Parks and Gardens

Bryant Park

I love hanging out in Bryant Park especially at lunch time. I could spend the whole day in Central (and have.)

Central Park

Central Park

Snug Harbor Botanical Gardens in Staten Island

NY Botanical Gardens in the Bronx

10421408_10205266951782067_511503481289301215_n

Washington Square in the Village

5. the Lights

Paris may be the “City of Lights,” but the lights of NYC are breath-taking especially around the holidays.

IMG_4457-0

IMG_4718-1

Happy Running! What is your favorite city and why?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “Friday Five – Things I like about my favorite city

  1. i love when i show up in your posts lately! 🙂 this is my fave city too (errrr no brainer), and it’s so great to read about other people who love it so much also. i’m so blessed to live right in the thick of things here! glad you are able to visit your face place pretty often, and hope to see you again in our fave city.

    Like

Leave a Reply

