Half Marathon #11


January 17, 2015 6:30 am

According to the map below, it looks like there will be ocean views! YAY!

My tennis friend Georgette plans to meet me at the finish line so that will be nice. She spends 4 months in Jupiter (1/2 hour north of West Palm.)

after our last dinner out

Georgette is the redhead to my right

Here is the summary version of my previous 10 half marathons:

1. My first and BEST was the Naples Half Marathon in January of 2011.  My goal was just to finish and I did in 2:28:27  (gun time, no chip timing).

2. I immediately registered for the 1st annual Lake George Half Marathon in April of that year.  Unfortunately, I had to run in sleet & freezing rain for 13.1 miles & without my Garmin. My time was 2:22:39 (gun time, no chip timing) and a PR until this year.

3. Out with strained Achilles for 6 weeks during the summer of 2011 delayed my training for the Adirondack Half Marathon  (so I walked the 2nd half of the race.) I finished in 2:44:59. It was still fun because I was running it with lots of friends.

4. Again impulsively, I decided to sign up for the inaugural Fall Foliage Half Marathon as a training run.  This was my hilliest half but I finished in 2:32:50.

my 4th Half Marathon 10-23-11

no photographers on the course

5. My goal race of that year was the Santa Clarita Half Marathon that I was running with a friend in California.  This time it only poured for half the race and I finished with a disappointing 2:30:12.

6. My next Half Marathon, the First Watch Half Marathon in Sarasota, Fla came in 2013 16 months after serious ankle surgery.  I was just glad to be running again. The course was beautiful, my friends were waiting at the end and I was happy with my 2:33:59 time.

Sarasota Half Marathon

7. The Mohawk-Hudson Half Marathon in the fall of 2013 was supposed to be the one where I would be seriously training and hopefully get a PR. Then I broke my foot.  With a late start to my training and my weekly miles not what I would have liked, again this half marathon was just “I’ll be happy to finish.” So I did in 2:24:14. I enjoyed it since it was my first half where I slept in my own bed the night before.

Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon

8. For the Love Run Half Marathon in the Spring of 2014, I was injury-free for the whole training but I trained during an awfully cold, snowy winter.  Despite running in monsoon rains, I managed to PR at 2:22:35. I made new running friends and we had fun during our weekend in “wet” Philly.

loverun

9. Last summer, after running a 10 mile race, I impulsively registered for the Saratoga Springs Half Marathon.  This taught me to never run one in the summer.  It was very humid & I felt sick so I struggled to a 2:26:00 finish.

sshm4b

10. Impromptu and free.  I registered for the Hangover Half Marathon and ran it as a training run on a cold, windy, lonely, boring course. And it was my fastest at 2:18:33.  Go figure?

hangover-059

So now it’s time for #11.  Since this past fall, I PRed at the 5K, 10K, 15K and 10 mile distance, should I be going for a half marathon PR??

My 15K time was 1:33:23 and my 10 mile time was 1:38:45.  In both races, I suffered from blisters (which were due to old insoles.) So logically, I should PR. Right?

I am healthy and I still lack confidence at the longer distance but yes, I will try to run my fastest half marathon. But as you all know, anything can happen on race day.  (Especially when training in the cold snowy NE and running in warm, humid Florida weather.)

If I don’t PR, there is still a lot of time left in 2015 to try again.

Goals:

A. Win an Age Group Award (I can dream)
B. Finish under 2:15
(going out on a limb here)
C. PR
(finish under 2:18:33)
D. Faster than my previous PR (
finish under 2:22:35 )
E. Finish under 2 1/2 hours
F. Finish happy & uninjured 🙂 and wearing this medal:

Facebook-20150102-052148

Weather forecast:

wpbweather

just a little warmer than I am used to LOL

weathertoday

today

And here’s the outfit:

IMG_4762-0

My Bib # is 2081

2+0+8+1 = 11 (and it’s my 11th half marathon = lucky #)

Happy Running! Do you run Half Marathons? Do you always try to PR?


11 thoughts on “Half Marathon #11

Leave a Reply

