HMRRC Winter Series #4 – 15K race Recap


Winter Series #1 (15K) – same course – Just warmer.

Hudson Mohawk Runners Club sponsors FREE races throughout the winter for its members. The course is pretty boring but free is free.

winter4-216

winter series #3 in 2013 (10K)

This weekend, they offered distances of 3M, 15K and 30K.

I usually run 8 miles on the weekend unless I need to do more for half marathon training. My next half isn’t for 12 weeks so I was tempted to take it real easy and do the 3 miler.  Especially since I ran 13.1 miles last weekend.

But I signed up for the 15K and hoped my legs wouldn’t be too tired.

This would be my 7th 15K:

2014
HMRRC #3 – 1:42:40 -same course
Stockeadeathon – 1:33:23 (PR)
HMRRC #1 – 1:34:55 – same course

2013
Stockeadeathon – 1:42:22

2011
Stockeadeathon – 1:36:08

My expectations for this one was to be around 1:40:00. Since my half last Saturday, I had only run twice and they were short ones.

I got lucky with the weather.  It was no longer sub-zero but a balmy 25-30 degrees. Probably colder with the wind chill.

The biggest problem was the WIND. The news said 30-50 mph gusts.  Holy crap!  When I heard that, I considered not going.

But the sun was shining and the forecast called for several snowstorms this week so I figured that I better get out there and run.

I left early to get parking since these races are crowded and there are other events going on at UAlbany.  I got there about 45 minutes early.

Since this race was organized by ARE, they had bibs and there would be chip timing. I had no idea and didn’t bring my race belt.  Oh well, I just pinned the bib to my skirt.

What I love about this local race is that you get to see a lot of people that you know.

I immediately bumped into my FB friend, Judy and then Bridget & Elisa, some SRMs, fellow blogger Jen and Christine, a law prof where I work. I also got to chat with Helen from the Turkey Trot group and Sue from Adirondack Runners.  They were all running the 3 miler.  Lucky them!

I stayed indoors until the last minute and then made my out way outside.

The sun felt nice but I knew this feeling wouldn’t last once we were facing the wind.  And I was right.

I just told myself that this was simply a training run and just do it.  (I tried to pretend that the snow was sand and the parking lots ocean – didn’t work, though.)

And it was cold with the wind blowing in your face.  And I was sweating with the wind  at my back and the sun in my face.

The course is very boring but it also has inclines.  Nothing steep, just enough to keep it interesting.  This year, I have tried to be better about hills and not walk up them. And I didn’t.

winter4-172

My legs felt very stiff and sluggish for the first few miles. By mile 3, I felt better.  I walked and took my first Gu around mile 3.5.  I felt good up to mile 6 or so.  The wind was getting stronger and it was tiring me out. Unfortunately half the race was run into the wind.

winter4-198

My legs ached like I had recently run a half marathon.  (That’s right, I did!)  My lower back started to hurt.  I walked again and took at GU at the water stop around mile 7.  (No blisters! YAY!)

From then until the end, I walked several more times. It didn’t seem worth struggling to run.  I knew I wouldn’t PR and I didn’t really care.

winter4-199

this is obviously a fake smile

The last 1 mile was the worst — into a strong wind.  I couldn’t barely move forward.

Finally I approached the finish line and a guy said: Wanna race? So I did sprint but he beat me.

I crossed at 1:34:36. (Chip time: 1:34:29 – Garmin time: 1:34:18)

ws4

I was 107 out of 158. This is a fast group as usual.  They gave awards for the top 2 in each 10 year age group.  Not moi!

ws4

I was 7th!

I was happy with the results.  It was a course PR and my 2nd fastest 15K ever.

IMG_4883

done!

I went inside to warm up and have some soup (red pepper & quinoa), bread, cookies, fruit, hot chocolate.  Not a bad spread for a free race .

Race splits:

mile 1 – 9:34
mile 2 – 9:49
mile 3 – 9:51
mile 4 – 10:38 (water & gu)
mile 5 – 10:03
mile 6 – 10:02
mile 7 – 10:37 (water & gu)
mile 8 – 10:24 (walk)
mile 9 – 10:43 (2 walks)
.3  – 8:50

If only I could maintain some speed during the 2nd half of my races…

I was glad that I did the race.  I never regret running a race.  Especially a free one.

Next weekend will be my last HMRRC Winter Series Race – 4 m, 10 m or 20 m.

I am still undecided about it – probably the 4 miler but maybe I am glutton for punishment and will run the 10 miler.

Happy Running! How you are enduring the winter?  Did you run this weekend?

runner-sig

6 thoughts on “HMRRC Winter Series #4 – 15K race Recap

  1. You just get faster & faster. I am doing the 4 miler next week but I need to tack on another mile & it’s supposed to be soooooo cold next weekend. I’ll be happy to get away for a while!

    Like

  2. Awesome job on the 15K!!! I wasn’t able to run the 15K here on Jan. 18th – made me sad, it’s one of my favorite distances! The group here in Richmond is pretty fast too.

    Like

  3. Pingback: National Running Day | My First 5K and More...

Leave a Reply

