Tuesdays on the Run: Runner’s Nutrition


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Runner’s Nutrition

I should preface this post with the fact that I do not eat healthy most of the time.  I love my carbs and my desserts (esp. ice cream).

That being said, here’s what me, the runner, eats :

  • Pre-Race Meal (the night before)Pizza or Pasta

IMG_4852

I don’t like too much cheese or sauce.  I prefer a thin crust.

Again, I don’t overdo on the sauce or the cheese.

  • Pre-Race meal (the morning of) – Oatmeal or Cream of Wheat

IMG_3945

Sometimes I make instant and sometimes I make the real stuff.  My favorite flavor is maple or brown sugar cinnamon.

  • Snacks before and after running Protein Bars

If I run after work, I usually eat one of these before I run. On days off, when I run in the morning, I eat one after my run. My favorites are Balance bar (yogurt honey peanut) and Kind (vanilla blueberry). I also like Cliff bars (pumpkin & gingerbread).

  • Fuel during long runs or long races  Energy Gels

I love salted caramel and peanut butter. Now there are 2 new ones – chocolate peanut butter & root beer!!

I usually take one GU before a race and every 4 miles during a long run or race. I have never had any stomach issues with GU,

  • What I drink before run & during a race – H20

Just plain water…nothing added.  And usually from the tap. I don’t like to carry water so I drink it before and after or loop back to my car.  Races are perfect since they provide water.

  • What I drink after a run or a race – Chocolate milk

Not fuel but refuel. For some reason, after a race, this is the only thing I can eat/drink right away.  It doesn’t upset my stomach.

Non-running related Nutrition:

  • Breakfast – Hot Cereal

I like this brand when I can find it.

  • Lunch (I snack throughout the day at my desk) – Bagel, Yogurt, Cheese, Apple


IMG_4208

  • DinnerMeat or Fish, Brown Rice & a Vegetable
  • Evening SnackIce cream (what else?)

My downfall is eating in restaurants and at other people’s houses.  I have NO WILL POWER!

Happy Running! What do you eat as a runner? Do you eat healthy?

runner-sig

12 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Runner’s Nutrition

  1. I love sweets too. However, sugar is like poison to someone with MVP. Even worse are artificial sweeteners. I run SO much better if I lower my sugar intake. I found a low sugar chocolate milk that’s really good! I do still love sweets though. {Sigh}

    Like

  2. I love the Better Oats Oatmeal! They have so many yummy varieties and it’s super quick to make on busy mornings. I also love bananas, Lara bars, and Honey Stinger Waffles before a race. 🙂 I’m a plain water drinker as well. Sports drinks don’t sit well with my digestive system!

    Like

  3. Oatmeal that I mix peaches into is something I really love before a long run; I had gotten out of the habit of making it though; thanks for the reminder! I’m really into the Clif bars at the moment (I think I have three in my purse right now!). Thanks for linking up with us today!

    Like

  4. Its great that you have figured out what works for you! I also used to be big on pasta before a long run. Once I started eating paleo I switched to a baked or sweet potato, or spaghetti squash so I could still have meatballs. Like you I was never big on the cheese either! I will still occasionally eat pasta before a long run but I usually notice that I don’t feel as good.

    Like

  5. I totally love ice cream. I have a bit every night. It’s probably my favorite food 🙂

    I start prepping for long runs/races two night before. I’ll do a lean protein, starch and veggie for dinner, something like a bagel for breakfast, a cheeseburger for lunch (I don’t know why, but it works), and a pasta for dinner. The morning of the race, I will have a banana (for shorter distances) or a bagel for longer.

    This is a great rundown of your nutrition!

    Like

Leave a Reply

