Polar Cap 4m Race Report


polarcap15

I have run this race with blogger AJH several times and it was a tough hilly one but still fun.

Polar Cap - 2nd place in AG

Here we are winning AG awards in 2010

AJH got 2nd place...we won a lunch bag which matches the race shirt

AG awards again in 2013

I ran with her last year but only she got an award.

20140201-171907.jpg

AJH’s award in 2014

AJH was running it again and I was looking forward to seeing her.

10872764_10155126109310174_3510530694647973051_o

don’t like that hill at the end but apparently we only run half the hill at the beginning this year

20140202-204346.jpg

during last year’s race

Also the weather was better than it has been – meaning it wasn’t snowing yet and it wasn’t sub-zero.  But it was COLD!!! In the teens when I left with snow showers predicted.

So I bundled up in my usual running layers and drove the hour ride up to Lake George.

Believe it or not, the temps warmed up to the 20s (heat wave!) and I discarded one layer.

I was glad I got there an hour early because I barely got a parking spot.  This new location does not have enough parking,  Many runners parked elsewhere and may have had their cars towed.

When I got there, AJH was already there. (She is hard core – drove all the way from VT.)

10924736_10155136809115174_8096058827417712730_n

nice to have gender-specific shirts – short sleeved – in the winter??

I chatted with some runners that I knew who were trying to talk me into  running a maathon.

Then I hung out inside with AJH until the race was about to start.

IMG_4960

I felt a little pressure to run fast since I didn’t win an AG award last year.  But you never know what will happen when you run a race and there are some fast runners in my age group. And this is a hilly course.

Previous Polar Cap Races:

2011 – 40:11
2013 – 41:40
2014 – 40:10

Runnin’ of the Green 4 milers (a flat course):

2014 – 38:07
2011 – 38:02 PR

Rabble Ramble:

2014 – 38:06

I have not been doing any 5ks or any speed work at all. My runs on the weekend have been long. So I was prepared for a slower time. Not a PR but maybe a course PR if I was lucky.

IMG_4984

I remembered the race started going uphill and my legs felt sluggish. Luckily they felt better as the race went on.

I walked after the first mile when there was a steepish hill.

IMG_4982

Then we went downhill for a while and it was slippery around the turns.

IMG_4983

I just plodded along admiring the scenery and trying for a consistent pace.

IMG_4968

This race has a very pretty course.  You run past the lake (which totally frozen & snow-covered)

IMG_4970

I really suck on the hills, I walked part of each one.  On one hill, while I was walking, a woman yelled “Don’t walk! Shuffle.” I replied that I wish I could. (In the end, I did pass her!!)

polar cap 4m

heading toward the last hill

Unfortunately, the last half mile of this race is straight uphill!

polarcap 2

I think I walked twice on that hill because I wanted to finish strong. But I really had nothing left at the end.

I crossed according to the clock at 37:40! A NEW PR!!!!

IMG_4961

I was generally happy with the race.  I ran it faster than I thought I would.

AJH finished a little after me.

IMG_4963

We went inside to wait for the age group awards.

There was soup and fruit and baked goods – I am a sucker for home-made stuff and ate quite a few cookies. I also had the soup and 2 cups of chocolate milk.

pc4m

And we both won awards!!! Woo Hoo!! AJH for the 8th time.  She keeps her streak going!

IMG_4966

3rd and 2nd

Splits:

mile 1 – 9:12
mile 2 – 9:31
mile 3 – 9:40
mile 4 –  9:44

(Garmin time: 37:38)

Positive splits!!.  What else is new?

After AJH left, I was debating on changing my clothes and leaving or running more.

But with a big snowstorm coming, I decided to take advantage.  So I decided to run to the Winter Carnival in town.

IMG_4971

This was the first day of the event which is held every weekend in February.

IMG_4973

I wandered a bit.

IMG_4974

not sure what they were dressed up for?

Then I visited with friends who were volunteering.

IMG_4976

The outhouse races were beginning but I didn’t stay to watch.

IMG_4977

I ran around the lake and through the town and then to my friend’s house.  I talked to her hubby for about 2 hours! Then I ran back to my car.

IMG_4978-0

I wonder if the horses get cold?

I covered 4 miles in total.

IMG_4979

I may have stopped here…

Next, I drove north  to Bolton Landing. I ran to our marina, through town and to the Sagamore.

IMG_4985

the marina – my happy place (in the summer)

I stopped in a few stores…

IMG_4988

and inside the Sagamore before running back to car.

IMG_4986

one last view of the lake

Another 2 miles covered!

You are never too old to set another goal…does this mean I should run a marathon?

I decided to call it a day and head home.  (My LG friends wanted me to stop back for the car parade and the bonfire but I was pooped and wanted to drive before the snow started.)

’m linking this post up with Tara at Running n’ Reading for her Weekend Update!

Happy Running! Did you run or race this weekend?

runner-sig

8 thoughts on “Polar Cap 4m Race Report

  1. Running up there is hard – a PR is awesome! I seriously don’t know how you go & run after, especially in winter – because I sweat so much, even in winter, I get seriously chilled after.

    I’ll be heading out for my long run in a few hrs. I’m pretty screwed because there are massive hills in every direction – they make the LG hills look tiny. Seriously. But whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right? Surprisingly it may be dry. But I can promise it’ll be sloooow.

    Like

  2. Pingback: National Running Day | My First 5K and More...

Leave a Reply

