One Word Resolution for 2015


The My One Word approach is popular every year.

Here is a summary:

Lose the long the list of changes you want to make this year and instead pick one word. This process forces clarity by taking all of your big plans for life change and narrowing them down into a single thing. Your one word focuses on your character and creates a vision for your future.

Last year was the first time that I tried it.

My word for 2014 was:

514_400x400_NoPeel

What is Acceptance?

Acceptance is “a person’s assent to the reality of a situation, recognizing a process or condition without attempting to change it, protest, or exit.”

Why did I choose Acceptance?

I think on the whole that I am too critical of myself.  My expectations of others are too high.  I focus too much on the negative.  I get disappointed and/or hurt too easily.

How will I focus on my word?

  • Accept my weaknesses.  I may not be the fastest runner, best tennis player or most flexible yogi. I am me.
  • Accept that other have different priorities than I do.  Do not try to change them.
  • Accept the good with the bad.  Not every run or tennis match will be a good one.  Not everything I attempt will turn out well.
  • Accept my family, financial and work situations.  They may not be the best but they could be a lot worse.
  • Accept that sometimes your best effort is not enough.
  • Accept that life is flawed and so are people.
  • Accept failures. But don’t give up.  Try again.

This year, I am doing One Word again and have chosen:

What is Believe?

Believe is “to have confidence in the truth, the existence, or the reliability of something, although without absolute proof that one is right in doing so.”

believe

on my shoe before my most recent half marathon

Why did I choose Believe?

I need to have more confidence in myself… in my job, my relationships, my successes.  Especially in running, 90% of your results are mental.  Believing in your abilities is very important.

How will I focus on my word?

  • Believe that I am good at what I do.
  • Believe that I can achieve things.
  • Believe that obstacles can be overcome.
  • Believe that age will not necessarily slow me down.
  • Believe that I can do yoga even if I am not flexible.
  • Believe that I can play tennis.
  • Believe that I can balance work, relationships and social activities.
  • Believe that I can eat healthy and maintain my weight.

Happy Running! If you were to choose ONE word for your focus throughout this year, what word would you choose?

(Don’t forget to enter my Runner’s Choice giveaway HERE.)

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “One Word Resolution for 2015

  1. Pingback: TOLT: One Word & a New Half | My First 5K and More…

  2. Pingback: Looking Ahead to 2017 – My First 5K and More…

Leave a Reply

