Tuesdays on the Run: Treadmill Running Tips


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Treadmill Running Tips

As much as I HATE running on the treadmill, it is a necessary evil this time of year.

dreadmill

So this is what works for me:

  • Wear comfortable clothing.  Even in the winter, you will get warm indoors.  Breathable clothes are necessary. And if you sweat a lot, have a towel nearby.
  • Water! I don’t get thirsty or drink a lot of water when I run EXCEPT when I run on the treadmill. (Maybe it’s the indoors.)
  • Entertainment.  No matter what anyone says, running on a treadmill is boring.  Have a TV nearby.  I use my iPad to watch my favorite television shows.  Lately, I have been listening the podcast, Serial.
  • Vary your workouts. You can do intervals or speedwork.  You can even simulate hills by changing the incline.
  • Rewards.  Yes, you can promise yourself a Starbucks coffee or a sugary snack if you get it done.
  • Run outside if you can.  Only use the treadmill when running outside is unsafe. Especially for long runs.

Happy Running!  Do you have any tips for running on the treadmill?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Treadmill Running Tips

  1. I used to love the treadmill and now I really dislike it. But like every serious runner, I use it when necessary. I really don’t have any tips other than to get it done! Makes you feel way better too after you have satisfactorily completed your workout!

    Like

  2. I REALLY need to get into Serial! Everyone I like seems to love it. I love my iPad on the treadmill! I need to figure out a sturdier system for it, though – maybe some removable velcro or something – as my treadmill doesn’t have a sufficient ledge and I keep knocking it off!

    Like

  3. totally agree with all of the above points. i’m not a treadmill fan unless it’s necessary, and then i’m thankful for it, but spend the whole run thinking about how much more i love running outdoors. my last 3 runs the past 3 days were on a treadmill — 4m, 4m and 7m — and i can’t wait til this NY cold and snow abates so i can get back outdoors.

    Like

  4. I don’t like running on the treadmill, either. But like you said, it can be necessary this time of year. I have a t.v. set up in the room where my treadmill used to be and I would either watch t.v. or listen to music. The treadmill died. I need to get a new one.

    Like

  5. I just hate the treadmill, but I do find myself skipping runs in the heat/humidity of the Florida summer so I need to embrace the treadmill when the other option is not to get my run in at all. I’ve never tried it with the iPad and I think that might really help! Thanks for linking up with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

