Friday Five: What I Like About Running in the Winter


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is FREE so I chose:  5 Things I Like About Running in the Winter

All I have been doing on this blog is complaining about how cold it is and how I hate it!

So I decided to point out what I like about winter running:

1. It doesn’t rain.

lr2

not a fan

I will run in the snow and cold but I will not run in the rain. Hence, no rain is a good thing for my running.

HMRRC WS#4 - 15K

happier here

2. I don’t sweat.

So I have less laundry because I can wear my running clothes more than once.

IMG_4793

And I can sneak out at work and go for a run and not be sweaty for the rest of the day.

IMG_5092

lunch break run

3. It’s pretty outside.

IMG_5082

Well, at least most of the time.

IMG_4404

4. There are free races.

IMG_4592

Race fees add up. I am lucky that our local running group (HMRRC) sponsors 6 free races during the winter. There are 3 distances to choose from at each race.

IMG_4906

It’s informal so it’s just a run with friends and food after.

5. There’s not a lot to do and it’s get me outside.

IMG_5050

In the summer, there’s boating, biking, hiking, tennis, gardening…many things to do outdoors.

Polar Cap 2015

But in the winter, I don’t ski, ice skate, snowshoe or snowmobile.  Running is my only outdoor activity.

Happy Running! What do you like about running in the winter?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “Friday Five: What I Like About Running in the Winter

  1. I’m definitely a fan of cooler weather and I would LOVE free races. I have not seen any of those near me! I also sweat profusely in the summer, so that is a bonus during the winter as well. Sometimes I sit in my running clothes after a winter run for more than just time to get food!

    Like

  2. Love this! Usual winters in VA are cold, but we have very little snow, I guess this was a good winter to be injured because we had an excessive amount of snow and because it was 10 degrees all darn winter, it just didn’t leave lol
    I say yessss, to free races. I haven’t found a free one here yet, but I keep looking 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

