Friday Five: Day in the Life


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is 5 Things in My Day/Day in the Life

Obviously I do more than five but here are the main things I do on a typical Friday:

1. Social Networking on my iPad

image

I start every day with the Today show, breakfast and reading e-mail, Facebook, Instagram and Bloglovin on my iPad. I get up extra early to fit it in.

2. One Minute Plank

I always (almost always) do my plank on the bathroom floor when I am waiting for my shower to heat up.

2. Work

image

Not the highlight of my day but it is essential – it pays the bills and pays for my races.  I work in a law school in IT and help staff and faculty with technology.  In other words, I spend a lot of time on the computer.

Yes, I am sitting most of the day. When the weather is nice, I go for a 15 minute walk outside in the morning and often walk at lunch. In the cold weather, I SIT!!

3.  Running

image

Usually three times a week, I run after work.  If at all possible, I run outside.  This has been a very snowy, icy winter so my most popular route is been around UAlbany campus.  They keep the path that goes around the perimeter pretty clear.

image

Once the snow melts, I will return to my other running routes in town and the park.

4. Mah Jongg

Every Friday night from 7-11 pm, I play Mah Jongg with a great bunch of women.  If everyone showed, we’d have 12 – 3 tables but usually we have only 8 and during the winter, sometimes it’s only 4.

a mah jongg anniversary dinner – 6 years together

We play, eat, drink and chat… so much fun and “brain” exercise, too.

4.  Reading

I cannot fall asleep at night without reading.  No matter how late, I go to bed, I read.  Sometimes it’s just a few pages and sometimes I read for hours.

So that’s my Friday.

Happy Running! What do you do on a typical day?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “Friday Five: Day in the Life

  1. Hmmmm.

    1. Stretch most mornings first thing, then drink water with lemon & have some lap time with Gizmo.

    2. Go out at 7 am sharp with the dogs – no matter the weather.

    3. 6 days a week, there is some form of exercise: running, swimming, yoga, strength training, Pilates.

    4. Walk the dogs, except in wet/snowy/icy weather. When it’s nice – a really short window – I try for 2 walks a day. And they get walked in my rest day, too.

    5. I also read before going to sleep. It takes me much longer to read books these days, because I usually only manage 20-30 pages a night.

    Like

  2. My days vary so much, but this morning I got up, ate, went to my track workout at 8:50am, had a trip to Starbucks afterwards with one of the girls in the group. Now after showering and eating I am headed to run errands. This weekend I have a 20 mile run, and I am trying to get motivated for that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

