Tuesdays on the Run: Rituals for Races


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Rituals for Races

I’m not really superstitious so I have no lucky charms but below are my must-do and must-haves on race day:

  • Breakfast

I always have oatmeal–2 or 3 packages with almond milk. I try to eat 2 hours before the race.

  • Fuel

I always eat one packet of Gu before the race and one after for each 4 miles of running and only drink plain water.

  • Running Skirt and Compression Socks

10850299_900162136661683_7867448503968640806_n

race_697_photo_14838692

Apple Run - October

No matter what the season or weather, I wear a skirt.  They are the most comfortable for me.  And because I still worry about my ankle, I wear compression knee socks.

  • My Garmin

It’s big and clunky but it tells me distance, time, pace…everything I need to know on one screen during a race.

  • My Road ID

Half in Naples, Florida

I got it for my first Half Marathon (in case I was found passed out on the side of the road) and have worn it every since.  Once I lost it so I bought another and then found the first one. So now I have 2 pink ones (one velcro, one rubber).

race_697_photo_14832070

  • My iPhone

iphonerun

I carry my phone everywhere.  I got burned once and I will never run without it.  I also use my phone to take pictures instead of  a camera.

  • Race Belt

stock15k

I have two different ones. I don’t like to put pins in my shirts so I attach my bib to the belt.  It also allows me to carry a phone.

IMG_4380

  • a Hat

IMG_4883

You’ll never see me run without one. A wool or fleece hat in the winter and a baseball cap the rest of the year.  I don’t like headbands and hats keep my hair out of the way.

Run for the Roc - September

Happy Running! Do you have any lucky charms or race day rituals?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Rituals for Races

  1. i actually never run with a hat — i love headbands. i think it’s important to know what you like and what’ll keep you happy for a race — looks like you’ve got your system down pat!

    Like

  2. No real lucky charms or superstitions. I agree with Meranda above…it’s all about the pockets. You look cute in a hat! My head is pea-sized and all hats come down too low. But, I will wear one if it’s raining.

    Like

Leave a Reply

