Tuesdays on the Run: Time Management While Race Training


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Time Management While Race Training

This is an important one… and often difficult to do.

  • Prioritize

What’s more important? Your race or your family? Your race or your friends? Your race or your job?

20140707-135858-50338555.jpg

yes, training interferes with my hubby’s favorite summer pastime.

20140722-121145-43905289.jpg

yes, training interferes with time on the tennis courts with my friends

and yes, often I have to work rather than run

In other words, sometimes, you have to skip a run.

  • Be creative.

I’ve had to take a day off from work to do a long run. I’ve split my long run into two parts and even into two days.

20140705-201209-72729504.jpg

I usually run after work but I’ve had to run during lunch

imageor even before work.

20140625-094757-35277662.jpg

  • Schedule it.

I decide each week, when I am going to run and I put in on my calendar.

I also post it on my blog.

It keeps me accountable.

  • Relax.

As they say …

It’s only a race.

If you don’t do well, there will be other races.

Happy Running! How do you manage your time while training for a race?

runner-sig

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Time Management While Race Training

  1. I love your final comment. ” It’s only a race. If you don’t do well there will be more,” Everyone should have this attitude about races!

    Like

  2. these are all good tips. i definitely prioritize my running and workouts, but sometimes you have to put other things first — like tonight, i have to go to school but i’d rather go running. 🙂 i try to make workouts coincide with girl time sometimes and workout with a friend — and last night i even made it into a date night, and went running with a boy. totally agree with you on creativity. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

