Friday Five: Trips


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is Trips

I have no big vacations planned to any exotic or faraway places but here are my 5 trips – 3 are definites and 2 are hopefuls:

1. New Jersey

Next week, I plan to visit a friend in New Jersey whom I visited last October…

IMG_4086

and run a half marathon in Asbury Park. I have never been there and can’t wait to run along the ocean.

2. Naples, Florida

Again this May, I plan to go to Naples with 11 of my closest tennis friends…

group photo with our instructor on our last day of lessons

We will be playing tennis, shopping, eating, sunning and just hanging out together. It will be our 10th year, I think.

on Palm Island

I hope do some running too.

running in Naples, Fla.

3. Vermont

At the end of next month, I plan to stay with AJH.  I have seen pictures of the part of rural Vermont where she lives.  It looks so nice.

photo by AJH

We will be running a marathon relay together in Burlington.  I have never been to Burlington and I am looking forward to it and running along Lake Champlain.

4. Florida for a half marathon 

I’ve run 3 here – Naples, Sarasota and West Palm Beach and loved them all.

Herald-Tribune staff photo by Dan Wagner - Yup, I am in the photo!!!

W. Palm Beach Half Marathon

Naples Half  Marathon

I haven’t decided where or when but it’s a definite maybe.

5. La Quinta, CA

I hope to be invited back to visit Mary.  I have been twice and loved it out there.

image

This past year, we hiked.  Maybe next time, we’ll run a race together.

1404409_10152532012779428_1568131196_o

Happy Running! What trips do you have planned?  Any invites to Florida?

runner-sig

14 thoughts on “Friday Five: Trips

  1. Vermont looks lovely. I run quite a bit in the FL panhandle. So, let me know if you decide to run a half in that area. I’ll meet you there! Of course, it will be a while until it cools off…

    Like

  2. Redding, CT doesn’t sound exciting but I’m looking forward to my race. Except looking at the elevation profile they sent yesterday is scary. Reminds me a lot of Austin.

    I’ll (hopefully) be in the Butlington area for the Green Mt Half in October. We lived there 20+ yrs ago. I haven’t been back in almost as long. I hated living there, but it’s a great place to visit. I didn’t run when I lived there, but I did a LOT of walking (the first time I lost 40 lbs!). Lots of hills.

    I’m sure we’ll go to Seattle at some point to visit the relatives again.

    And there’s actually a chance we might get to Europe this summer; my husband may have a business trip. I’ve never run in Europe (except on a treadmill in Prague – I was just starting to run back then). Still iffy.

    Like

  3. The Vermont City marathon is awesome. I ran the last 2 legs about 11 miles a few years ago. I got to run on the bike path, it was awesome. Hope the weather is good!!

    Like

  4. I’d love to run a race in Florida and actually looked for one for February. They had a half marathon and marathon the day of our cruise and I decided to skip that and get on the ship early and enjoy everything! Pretty sure I ran around Coral Gables that day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

