Tuesdays on the Run: Spring Training Update


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Spring Training Update

My training this Spring is going to be pretty informal:

  • Mondays – FRW training group run – usually 3 miles with some speed work mixed in
  • Tuesdays – tennis
  • Wednesdays and/or Thursday – 3-4 easy miles
  • Fridays – gym – upper body machines
  • Saturday or Sunday – a race with some extra miles for a longish run

I am currently tapering for my half marathon on Saturday!!

aphm

half #12 – along the ocean – yay & a visit to a college friend in NJ

Then I have a recovery 5K before I start ramping up the miles for another half marathon.

enjoyed this one last year too – hopefully there will be cherry blossoms this year

The training begins with a 15K along the river.

sro

yes, that’s me on the website – I ran the 10K last year – this year I signed up for the 15K

This is a weekday training run and a 5k.

10174905_713026315387380_979752461_n

May 7, 2015 6:30 pm…wasn’t planning on this but a FB friend started a team for this 5k and…

I continue my training with another 15K on my birthday.

mc

May 9, 2015 – running the 15K, a new race for me

then a fun 5K to celebrate Mother’s Day.

md5k15

GOTR event – I am volunteering in this program and will be doing it with my new buddy – otherwise I would run this for the 2nd time

Hopefully, my legs will be ready for this hilly half. I am excited to visit Burlington, VT.

May 24, 2015 – I am doing the relay with AJH – my 13th half

I will be recovering with my favorite 5K

frw15

This is the only race that I have never missed – so this will be my 8th time.

And finally another half marathon about 1 1/2 hours south.

Half Marathon – June 13, 2105 – my 14th half – get to see the new bridge over the Hudson

I will be traveling to Denver, CO for a conference and get back the night before for this hilly 10 mile race.

June 20, 2015 – my 2nd year – loved it last year – this year I will be jetlagged.

Happy Running?  How’s your spring training going?  Which race(s) are you training for?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Spring Training Update

  1. good luck in the half! i’ll be in NJ on Saturday too, but for a girlfriend’s wedding, not a race. 🙂 look forward to reading your recap. hope you get good weather. i have a few girlfriends who have run the VT City full marathon and heard it’s so hilly but a beautiful course.

    Like

  2. We both have a half this weekend but I’m betting you will get the better weather. It looks like a rainy day for me! I usually do a pancake 5k on Mothers Day weekend that is a lot of fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

