261 Fearless


Each month, one of my responsibilities as a Skirt Sports Ambassador Captain is to post on a particular topic.

This month it’s:

  • “261” and honoring the anniversary of Kathrine Switzer; the first woman to officially run the Boston Marathon

or

  • Women conquering barriers

I wrote a post recently about women conquering barriers HERE – AGE being the barrier.

I can’t tell you how many times, I have heard women say:

  • I’m too old to run.
  • I used to run when I was younger…
  • I can’t run fast, I’m too old.
  • A half marathon at my age?
  • I don’t want to wreck my knees.
  • I don’t want to wind up needing a hip replaced.
  • Won’t you get arthritis?
  • Etc. etc etc

If you run, you know that none of this is true. There are so many runners at my age and older. Some are still fast and some are not.  It doesn’t matter. They are out there running and enjoying life.

I met Joan Benoit Samuelson several years ago.  She is so nice. She is still running marathons and she is still fast.

Kathrine Switzer is “fearless”ly still running at almost 70 years old.

You can read more about 261 Fearless on her site here.

So everyone be “FEARLESS” and run until …..

Don’t let your age be a barrier to fitness.

Happy Running!

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “261 Fearless

  1. My running buddy and often I see an older gentleman running at one of our local parks. He looks to me around 80ish years of age and he is still running! We always say that the two of us will still be at it when we’re his age. 🙂
    Age is just a number.

    Like

  2. My aches have been getting he best of me lately, but I don’t want to give in, I do want to run and be as fit as I can. I love these kind of posts! I need to hear this 🙂

    Like

  3. It makes me sad when people have misconceptions about running, like it will wreck my knees and I’m too old.

    I didn’t start running until two years ago at age 43. It was a great decision and I love it. I’m healthier than I’ve ever been… and no knee trouble! Running is a fun, safe activity when done properly.

    I’m so glad you’re competing and writing about it to show women can do this at every age.

    Like

  4. Pingback: #REALWomenMove | My First 5K and More...

  5. Pingback: My Most REAL Race #REALwomen move | My First 5K and More…

Leave a Reply

