How has running changed you?


Thursdays are for thinking… so I am linking up with Running With Spoons

Thanks to ChocolateJudyRuns for posing the question: “How has running changed you?”

As she says, many started running to lose weight.  But in the end, it is so much more to us.

2009-2012

I did not start running to lose weight.

As you may be able to tell, I gained weight once I started running.

First of all, I am eating more before and after. Secondly and more importantly, age puts on weight (esp. menopause.)

I no longer wear shorts.  The shorts in that photo don’t come close to fitting.  I now wear skirts.  They are more comfortable and they hide more (those cottage cheese thighs).

I’ve stopped ruining my shirts by pinning bibs on them.  (I now wear tech shirts.  The one in the photo is cotton.) And I have a running belt that carries my cell phone and I can attach my bib to it.

I spend more money on my running shoes than my regular shoes.  I plan my vacations around races. I plan my social calendar around my running. I read running magazines from cover to cover.

Those changes, however, are superficial.

How has running changed me?

I feel accomplished, strong, and capable.

I feel happy after I run.

I feel healthier and more alive.

I feel more confident.

I feel younger.

I have made some amazing friends from running.

Happy Running! Has running changed your life? If so, how?

runner-sig

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “How has running changed you?

  1. Nice post!

    I started running again to rehab an ACL repair and it has changes my life hugely!!! I have lost body fat from running-I weigh the same I have for about 3 years now. My workout schedule includes long runs, my weekends are planned around running (is there a race? Oh I can’t do that I have a race). It was lead me to meet some awesome people and is one of the reasons I started my blog and FB page. I am happier, healthier and more confident 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

