Cherry Blossom 5K Race Recap


This was the second year that I have run this race.  I really liked it last year and I came in 2nd in my age group (60-99 group).

The course is very winding and pretty flat except for the last mile which is uphill.

My time last year was 27:51.  Could I beat that??

And should I try?  After all, I just ran a half marathon last weekend. My feet are still recovering.

Nevertheless, I was determined to give it my best shot and not to be disappointed if I sucked (like last weekend.)

The weather was iffy.  Cloudy and cool but not sure how cool so I wore my skirt from last week and a long sleeved shirt.  And for my feet – new insoles, compression sleeves and Feetures socks and moleskin on the sensitive spots.  Fingers crossed.

image

The race started at 10:15 and I got there around 9:30 and parked a few blocks away on the street. It was pretty crowded – more racers than I remembered – over 500.

I bumped in many people that I knew – Sue, Helen & Brian from the Turkey Trot group, Valerie & Sue – runners in my age group that I meet often at races.

Unfortunately at this Cherry Blossom race, they were absolutely NO cherry blossoms  😦  Longest winter ever!

image

I wound up starting with Valerie.  We moved toward the front but not too close since it was chip-timed.

Here’s Valerie.  Not sure where I was?

As soon as the race started, the sun came out.  I was warm.

My feet felt fine – the whole race. YAY!

But for some reason, I had trouble breathing – I was coughing and out of breath the whole time – maybe allergies?  It’s always something.

I usually have a pretty fast first 2 miles and then slow down but I was tired even during the first mile.

There a small water stand after mile 1 and I stopped to catch my breath and then continued running until the next water stop at the half way point.

It was a pretty interesting course – you just wind your way around the neighborhoods.  I tried to run the tangent as much as possible.

Believe it or not, I had a brief stop again at the first water stop and then tried to run non-stop to the finish.

Nope, I had to walk again!!

I wanted to make it through under 28 minutes.  But I did not. It was chip-timed so I really did.

cb5k1

At least the refreshments were better than my half marathon – fruit, yogurt, granola, bagels, cupcakes and chocolate milk.

image

I had 2 milks and 2 cupcakes

Valerie & I hung out to see if we won any awards.

And I won 2nd.

cb5k

Not a PR nor a course PR but still a decent race.  I was happy.

image

Race Splits:

mile 1- 8:57
mile 2 – 9:17
mile 3 – 8:59
.1 – 7:57

Goals:

A. Course PR (under 27:51)  – NO
B. Age Group Award. – YES
C. Under 10 min pace for each mile. YES
D. No blisters. YES
E. Enjoy and finish! YES

Since I have another half marathon in a month, I had planned to run anther 6 miles with Judy on the bike path which was nearby.

image

my jacket did not stay on long

We decided to head 3 miles east and then turn around.

image

It was a nice day for running. Again the sun came out and I was too warm.

I did my usual run faster and stop and walk while Judy ran her steady pace.

image

It wasn’t long before I realized that the moleskin protecting my foot had come loose and the blisters on the bottom on my left foot were coming back with a vengeance.

Like with the half marathon, it hurt with each step I took.

Now they actually hurt worse but my right foot this time is fine.  It may be time to rest my footsies.

I’m linking this post up with Tara at Running n’ Reading for her Weekend Update!
 

Happy Running! How was your weekend?

runner-sig

15 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom 5K Race Recap

  1. Congrats on another AG award and a very strong race after a half last weekend. As usual, your outfit is really cute. So sorry you are dealing with horrible blisters. Maybe if you changed up your socks you would get relief? I’ve never gotten a blister wearing Thorlo Experia socks.

    Like

  2. Congrats on placing second ! Great accomplishment, especially since having run a half marathon so recently. I ran my first beginning of April then took two weeks off. All power to you and best of luck in your upcoming race !

    Like

  3. Great race Darlene! Congrats on the AG place 🙂
    You must have a heck of a blister! I just commented on new post and couldn’t remember if it was a blister. That stink it’s taking so long to heal. Have you been soaking it a lot?

    Like

  4. Way to go on your PR–and your AG! Seriously, that’s the best feeling! I’ve read a lot of good blister treatment advice in the comments above. I used to get bad blisters, until I discovered BodyGlide. No kidding, I cake it on my feet: on the heel, on and between my toes, all over the ball and arch of the foot. Along with more technical socks (like Underarmour and Feetures), I’ve never had a blister since–not even on my first-ever marathon this past weekend. Anyway, I hope that helps. Can’t wait to hear how your next race goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

