Friday Five: Race Day


DC_linkup

Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mary at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

This week, the theme is Race Day.

If you are a runner, who doesn’t love “race day.”

Here are 5 important things in my race day:

1. Have a good breakfast

For me, it’s oatmeal or cream of wheat with flax or raisins added in.

2. Get dressed in a cute but comfortable outfit.

IMG_4762-0

Yes, I am matchy matchy but I try to wear clothes that I’ve worn before so I know they will be comfortable.

3. Bring all the extra stuff you need

IMG_4763

Fuel for before and during.

My Garmin, my iPhone, my RoadID, my belt for attaching my bib…

IMG_4794

Change of clothes for after.

4.Get to the race early.

So you can find parking, get your race packet, use the restrooms and meet up with friends. And then relax (Is that possible?)

5.Cross that finish line and smile.

Be proud of your accomplishment even if it wasn’t a PR. You finished a race!!

20140713-140835-50915896.jpg

Happy Running! What important things go on on your race day?

runner-sig

11 thoughts on “Friday Five: Race Day

  1. I do all the same things, except I don’t always change clothes after since I’m usually pretty close to home. If anyone is riding with me, we just stink together. LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

