#REALWomenMove


Go to http://www.skirtsports.com/ambassadors/ to read about the awesome ambassador captains

Part of my responsibility of being a Skirts Sports Ambassador Captain is posting every month on a different topic.

Last month, the topic was: (You can click on the links to read my posts.)

This month, the topic is what REALwomenmove means to me:

rwm

  • REALwomenmove women are Real bodies.

When I was almost 55, I decided to join a running club and run my first 5K.  I had never done anything athletic until I was in my 40s when I learned to play tennis. Many people may have thought that I was too old and most of the runners in the group were indeed younger. But I quickly got addicted to racing and here I am, 62, and wearing running skirts (even if it shows the cellulite on my thighs.)

2009-2012

  • REALwomenmove women are Real inspiration.

Through reading running blogs, I have met some inspiring women.  Women who in their 60s are competing in triathlons and women who smile while going through their cancer treatments….

before the race

  • A REALwomenmove woman is proud of who she is.

Sometimes when I race, I win an award because I am the only one in my age group.  That’s ok.  I am still proud of my accomplishment.

hf10k-4

  • A REALwomenmove woman is confident.

When I first started running, I only ran 5ks. I did that for several years. Then when I had a serious health scare, I decided that life was short and I needed a challenge.  I decided to run a half marathon and I was confident that I could do it (despite my hubby’s fears.)

Half in Naples, Florida

  • A REALwomenmove woman do not judge other women.

Though my running years, I have run with many diverse groups of women – beginning runners, older runners, runners with young kids, slow runners, fast runners… No matter what, we are women and we are runners.  We support each other!!

1401660_10152284403704428_1124754309_o

  • A REALwomenmove woman is comfortable in her own body.

My body has enabled to play tennis and even compete at state and national levels.

Now running has taken precedence over tennis and I have run over 100 races including 12 half marathons.

race_697_photo_14838692

  • A REALwomenmove woman accepts and loves herself as she is.

Yes, I am still uncoordinated and clumsy.  Hence, a broken ankle and a broken foot.  But I focus on my strengths and accept my weaknesses.

image

  • To a REALwomenmove woman, an active life is important to her health and happiness.

Every time, I get injured, people ask “are you going to stop running now?”  I say “Hell, no!”

Register for The Biggest Loser RunWalk at www.biggestloser.com/runwalk

Being active is who I am.  It is important to my life. It makes me happy and it makes me feel healthy.

Be sure to drop by the Skirt Sports website to see how the Ambassadors move!

Happy Running! How do you move?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “#REALWomenMove

  1. I love this post and I think you are awesome. Sometimes there are just a few or we are the only one in our age group, I am also very proud to be a runner at 61 years young. By the way, my Boston qualifying marathon I was first and last in my AG.

    Like

  2. Darlene, your post is uplifting and encouraging. I started running 1 1/2 years ago at age 54 because running a 5k was on my bucket list. I still find it hard to believe how far I have come in such a short period of time. Cheers for the old gals!

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Most REAL Race #REALwomen move | My First 5K and More…

Leave a Reply

