Freihofer’s Run for Women Race Recap


9:30 am

This is the only race that I’ve run every year! This is my 8th time!!!!!

My first FRW in 2008:

FRW - 2008

Due to construction, they changed the course.

They said that this course would be faster…less congested and have a less steep hill at the start and finish.

5kCoursePDF

I did run parts of the new course a few weeks ago.

11212625_591732004263023_991804346722013456_o

As with this race every year, I never know what will happen…

Anyway, I should be recovering not running a 5K.  I just race a half marathon last Sunday. As you know, my feet are not what I would like them to be (but it is what is…)

But how could I miss my 8th Freihofer’s Run for Women?

And my FIRST Freihofer Training Challenge…

5 pm group at our first meeting. There are 3 other groups

Training is a loose term. I kinda just showed up.  Monday runs were always after a Sunday long run and I never attended the Saturday runs.  I even missed the last 2 Mondays.

But I was excited to be part of it and support all the runners who would be finishing their FIRST 5k.  And see my “advanced” buddies who would hopefully PR.

As I have done every year, the day before I walked to Empire State Plaza concourse at lunch to go to the expo and pick up my race packet.

For convenience, I parked at work and walked to the start.  I do this every year.  However, this year with the new course, it was an even longer hike. Like 2 1/2 miles!

I bumped into a runner from the Challenge group and we chatted the most of the way. We cut through the Empire State Plaza to use real restrooms.

It was strange to walk down Madison Avenue and not see the race banners and not see the giant poster on the bridge.

pics from last year…

And the weather…it was HOT!! in the high 70’s, sunny and VERY humid.  Plus the race doesn’t start until 9:30 am – too late a start with this type of weather.

We got to the race location and immediately located the Challenge Group Tent and a lot of first time 5k runners. It was pretty early but I bumped into so many runners that I knew.

IMG_5802

Catching up with everyone made the time go by quicker.

In fact I was talking while the Challenge group took their group photo. To my defense, it was supposed to be taken at 9:00 am and they took it at 8:55.

IMG_5803

I even met Judith, fellow blogger and Skirt Sports Ambassador.  We both had yellow bibs so we walked to the start together.

IMG_5804

Although it was very crowded, there were about 1000 less runners than last year. I’m not sure why. (new route, weather??)

Instead of the usual singing of the national anthem, the bells from City Hall played the song.  Usually I am moved to tears, but not this time.  In fact, the whole event, seemed to lack the usual enthusiasm and excitement.

I think changing the route from Madison Ave to Washington lost a lot of crowd support.  The street is wider and there is no bridge overlook, etc.

frw3

pic from Troy Record

Anyway, with the new start, it didn’t take as long to get moving and the first hill was longer but not as steep.

frw6

pic from Troy Record

As soon as I started, I got the feeling that my legs were not as recovered as I had hoped.  They were moving but so slowly.

When I got into the park and looked at my time, I was shocked at how slow it was.  Usually mile 1 is my fastest. Yes, it was HOT and HUMID but we had a breeze at our backs.

AB-3066-XL

I am smiling because I see my friend Allison with her camera

AB-3069-XL

I continued to trudge along and couldn’t wait to walk at the first water stop around mile 1.5.

This course had you run around more of the park and it also seemed to avoid the bigger hills of the park.

You would think that I would have a faster time.

Nope.  I was dying.  I told myself that I would not walk until the next water stop.  That was around mile 2.5.

Finally we left the park and headed downhill to the finish.  Not the steep downhill that we used to have but at least it was downhill.

11390014_10204734206056106_2523342973555152804_n

I ran as fast as I could.  I was determined not to finish over 30 minutes.

And I did not.

I grabbed a bagel and some chocolate milk.  It was definitely less congested this year.  No long lines for food.

I ran into lots of runners again that I knew.  Beside Holly, everyone seem to have a disappointing finish time.

IMG_5805

with Laurie from the Turkey Trot training group.

The first time runners were so excited.  That put a smile on my face. I quickly put my disappointment in the back of mind and congratulated them on their achievement.

I walked around a bit until they posted the results and then I saw some folks that I work with.

IMG_5824

Christine, a law prof and Alicia, the Dean

The Dean went to law school with the mayor.

IMG_5818

me & the mayor

As I left, I walked by the elites who finished the race in 15-16 minutes.

IMG_5809

the top 5

IMG_5810

the top American finshers

I may not have run the race that I wanted but I still enjoyed myself. And my FEET DID NOT HURT! (until the walk home)

IMG_5819

You get what you put in.  I did not do the speed workouts so I can’t be disappointed that my time was slower than last year. I also just ran a half marathon and I am no spring chicken.

Splits:

mile 1- 9:26
mile 2- 9:38
mile 3 – 9:17
14 –  7:25

Chip time – 29:22  (that was slower than the hilly Mastodon 5k where I fell 😦 )

Afterwards, I walked back to my car (uphill for 2 1/2 miles). My feet started to hurt..a lot!

I had planned to run 7 more miles.

Instead I drove to the park and shuffled my way to 2 painful miles.  (Remember I have another half marathon in 2 weeks!!)

IMG_5812

IMG_5811

very peaceful …all the runners are gone

Guess what?  I have another 5k next Sunday!!

I’m linking this post up with Tara at Running n’ Reading for her Weekend Update!

I am also linking up with Jessica from The Silvah Lining for the Race Recap Link Up.

The Silvah Lining

Happy Running!  Do you race this weekend? If so, how did it go?

runner-sig

11 thoughts on “Freihofer’s Run for Women Race Recap

  1. My time today sucked. It was even slower than my hot Heartbreak Hill last year & about 15 minutes slower than my half at the beginning of the month! I actually thought I was doing better than Heartbreak because even though I walked a lot of the hills at the end, I did run/walk intervals & in heartbreak I just walked.

    Except for the last couple of miles, though, I had a good time.

    Oh yeah & we started at 7 am! I don’t know why they start freihofers so friggin’ late!

    Between the foot, the heat & lack of recovery I think slower times are to be expected. But believe me, I know how frustrating that is!

    Like

  2. Hanging out with you at the start made the time go faster 🙂

    It was hot today. I kept trying to focus on the patches when we ran in the shade instead of how hot it was in the sun. It sort of worked.

    2.5 miles to your car is a long way! Take care of those feet!

    Like

  3. Pingback: I Passed Step 1&2 of my Coaching Certification! | So Very Slightly Mad

  4. Just remember how much you’ve run this year. You still had a great race, sub 30! I can certainly sympathize. I hope the lack of races around here (and forced break) will do me some good. My times have not been what I’d like and now my hip hurts. Ugh…

    Like

Leave a Reply

