Tuesdays on the Run: Running Breaks


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Running Breaks

There are many reasons to take a break from running.

  • Injuries

This is the worst.  Injuries suck.  There is nothing you can do about them.  You just can’t run.  And you always wonder if you will again.

I have had a few.  Broken foot in 2013…

good thing I kept those critches

Stress fracture in late 2012…

my new shoe

Ankle surgery for 2 broken bones in early 2012…

now and for the next 8 weeks

  • Weather

When I first started running, I stopped in October and began again in April.  Then I realized that I could run in the cold weather, even in the snow. Running in the rain and ice.  Not for me!!

IMG_4899

Living in the Northeast, there were many days like below when I did not run.

The same can be true if you live in a warm, humid climate.  It is hard to run in those conditions.

20140803-112646-41206032.jpg

doesn’t this look inviting?

  • Life

Yup, sometimes life gets in the way.  I work full-time and I am not a morning runner. Evening and weekend work, family and friend obligations often make running impossible.

My hubby and my friends do not run so I try not to let running interfere with my relationships.

10405437_10153756637729428_6501356606667614072_n

dinners out with friends

20140707-131358-47638480.jpg

boating with the hubby

20140722-121145-43905289.jpg

tennis instead of running

Sometimes, I’d rather be running but I know I always can’t choose running.

  • Tapering or Recovering

Also we may not want to take a break, we know we have to. Before and after a long race, I usually take at least 2 days off. I like to be active and feel like a slug when I don’t run.  But I that these old bones need a rest or there will be repercussions.

20131014-084712.jpg

best post half recovery

  • Lack of Mojo

This is a tough one.  It’s when you just don’t feel like running.

I’ve had this feeling many times but since I sign up for so many races, I know that if I don’t run, there will be consequences.

There are many reasons for lack of mojo:

  • Over training
  • Fatigue
  • Pain
  • Poor races results

We’ve all experienced these.

I have recently felt the last two.  Since my half in April, my feet have bothered me on and off.  It is not fun to run when something hurts.

pic2

ouch!!

I also have been disappointed in my finish times.  I am getting slower.  Especially for my April half which I trained for and the course was flat.  I expected to do better and I was depressed for long time afterwards.

image

not happy here

As a result, May was a low mileage month for me… (even though I ran a half marathon!!)

may mi

Happy Running?  Do you take breaks from running?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Running Breaks

  1. I confess I’ve been struggling with lack of mojo for the same reasons you list. I am encouraged that I’ve started feeling a little better the last couple of weeks…and I’ve been running more. And walking TONS.

    Like

  2. I have been on a involuntary injury break and it really does stink. I still don’t feel 100% and I can tell if run back to back days I start aching, so I still need to proceed with caution. You dealt with a bunch of injuries, i am glad to see you keep coming back though. It gives me hope!
    I struggle with running pace at times as well, I try to just be glad I am running, but some days it just makes me want to eat chocolate.

    Like

  3. i’ve def fallen victim to overtraining as well, due to a love for running and desire to do it all the time! it’s just so easy to default to it, esp when it’s nice out. i’ve had to take some breaks due to injuries and i’m hoping to not have that happen again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

