Half Marathon #14


thinking out loud

So I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

June 13, 2015 7:30 am

Every time, I run a half marathon, I like to look back at my previous races. I can’t believe that this will be my 14th.  And 9th after my ankle surgery.  (So Dr. Ortho, I can run again!!)

1. My first and BEST was the Naples Half Marathon in January of 2011.  My goal was just to finish and I did in 2:28:27  (gun time, no chip timing).

2. I immediately registered for the 1st annual Lake George Half Marathon in April of that year.  Unfortunately, I had to run in sleet & freezing rain for 13.1 miles & without my Garmin. My time was 2:22:39 (gun time, no chip timing) and a PR until this year.

3. Out with strained Achilles for 6 weeks during the summer of 2011 delayed my training for the Adirondack Half Marathon  (so I walked the 2nd half of the race.) I finished in 2:44:59. It was still fun because I was running it with lots of friends.

I see the finish line!

4. Again impulsively, I decided to sign up for the inaugural Fall Foliage Half Marathon as a training run.  This was my hilliest half but I finished in 2:32:50.

my 4th Half Marathon 10-23-11

5. My goal race of that year was the Santa Clarita Half Marathon that I was running with a friend in California.  This time it only poured for half the race and I finished with a disappointing 2:30:12.

After 5 half marathons in 2011, there were NONE in 2012. (The year of the broken ankle & foot stress fracture.)

6. My next Half Marathon, the First Watch Half Marathon in Sarasota, Fla came in 2013 16 months after serious ankle surgery and 5 months after a foot stress fracture.  I was just glad to be running again. The course was beautiful, my friends were waiting at the end and I was happy with my 2:33:59 time.

Sarasota Half Marathon

7. The Mohawk-Hudson Half Marathon in the fall of 2013 was supposed to be the one where I would be seriously training and hopefully get a PR. Then I broke my foot. With a late start to my training and my weekly miles not what I would have liked, again this half marathon was just “I’ll be happy to finish.” So I did in 2:24:14. I enjoyed it since it was my first half where I slept in my own bed the night before.

Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon

8. For the Love Run Half Marathon in the Spring of 2014, I was injury-free for the whole training but I trained during an awfully cold, snowy winter.  Despite running in monsoon rains, I managed to PR at 2:22:35. I made new running friends and we had fun during our weekend in “wet” Philly.

loverun

9. Last summer, after running a 10 mile race, I impulsively registered for the Saratoga Springs Half Marathon.  This taught me to never run one in the summer.  It was very humid & I felt sick so I struggled to a 2:26:00 finish.

sshm4b

10. Impromptu and free. I registered for the Hangover Half Marathon this past New Year’s Day and ran it as a training run on a cold, windy, lonely, boring course. And it was my fastest at 2:18:33.  Go figure?

hangover-059

11.  Training in frigid temps and running in Florida in January I thought would give me problems but the stars were aligned and I had the BEST.HALF.EVER in West Palm Beach. Beautiful weather, awesome scenery, a big PR and age group win. I sprinted to a 2:09:40 finish!!!

race_697_photo_14838692

12. I had awesome aspirations for the Asbury Park Half Marathon this past April. But foot pain ended that and I had a disappointing 2:20:18 finish time.

ap hm1

13. The Vermont City Marathon Relay on Memorial Day weekend was an unplanned race. Although, my finish time of  2:25:24 was slow, I thoroughly enjoyed the race.

VCM Relay

14. This race on Saturday should be scenic and a good time. I have not trained much since April so I will not be disappointed with a slow time.

Fingers crossed for NO rain and NO pain! (The forecast is for showers & thunderstorms…)

Here are my Goals:

A. Finish Faster than my previous half (under 2:25:24 )

B. Finish under 2 1/2 hours

C. Beat my slowest time (under 2:44:59)

D. Finish happy & uninjured 🙂 

And what will I wear?

A combination of the last two outfits – hat, SkirtSports skirt, shoes from Asbury Park and SkirtSports shirt, socks from VCM

ap hm1   VCM Relay

Happy Running! Anyone else running this race?

runner-sig

6 thoughts on “Half Marathon #14

Leave a Reply

