The Big Apple for a Rest


Last Saturday was my rest day.

So I rested.

NOT.

I traipsed around New York City.

I loved this movie:

So I wanted to see the real painting and its exhibit.

It was at the Neue Galerie on 86th & 5th.

Gustav Klimt and Adele Bloch-Bauer: The Woman in Gold” is an intimate exhibition devoted to the close relationship that existed between the artist and one of his key subjects and patrons. Included in the exhibition is a display of Adele Bloch-Bauer I, paintings, related drawings, vintage photographs, decorative arts, and archival material.

I did get to see the painting but you couldn’t take photos.

IMG_5854

here I am with the fake painting

I also a big fan of Van Gogh and Impressionist art.  My friends wanted to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to see the new Costume Institute.  But I wanted to see Van Gogh’s Irises and Roses.

Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890) brought his work in Provence to a close with exuberant bouquets of spring flowers—two of irises and two of roses, in contrasting formats and color schemes—in which he sought to impart a “calm, unremitting ardor” to his “last touch of the brush.” Painted on the eve of his departure from the asylum at Saint-Rémy and conceived as a series or ensemble on a par with the Sunflower decoration painted earlier in Arles, the group includes the Metropolitan Museum’s Irises andRoses and their counterparts: the upright Irises from the Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam, and the horizontal Roses from the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.

This exhibition will reunite the four paintings for the first time since the artist’s death and is timed to coincide with the blooming of the flowers that captured his attention. It will open 125 years to the week that Van Gogh announced to his brother Theo, on May 11 and 13, 1890, that he was working on these “large bouquets,” and will provide a singular opportunity to reconsider Van Gogh’s artistic aims and the impact of dispersal and color fading on his intended results.

Irises are also one of my favorite flowers.  I try to walk or run in a local park to see them in bloom.

iris1 iris2

Of course, I like roses too.

roses1

So we went to the Metropolitan.  My friends are members so the tickets were free.

IMG_5842

I got to the VanGogh’s 4 paintings and after we had lunch with a view of Central Park.

IMG_5844

All I could see while we were eating were runners going by.  I so wanted to be one of them.

Then we checked out the Costume Institute’s new exhibit on China.

This exhibition explores the impact of Chinese aesthetics on Western fashion and how China has fueled the fashionable imagination for centuries. In this collaboration between The Costume Institute and the Department of Asian Art, high fashion is juxtaposed with Chinese costumes, paintings, porcelains, and other art, including films, to reveal enchanting reflections of Chinese imagery.

From the earliest period of European contact with China in the sixteenth century, the West has been enchanted with enigmatic objects and imagery from the East, providing inspiration for fashion designers from Paul Poiret to Yves Saint Laurent, whose fashions are infused at every turn with romance, nostalgia, and make-believe. Through the looking glass of fashion, designers conjoin disparate stylistic references into a pastiche of Chinese aesthetic and cultural traditions.

The exhibition features more than 140 examples of haute couture and avant-garde ready-to-wear alongside Chinese art. Filmic representations of China are incorporated throughout to reveal how our visions of China are framed by narratives that draw upon popular culture, and also to recognize the importance of cinema as a medium through which to understand the richness of Chinese history.

It was amazing.

We actually went to the Neue Galerie second and had dessert.

IMG_5852

Afterwards, we walked back to the Metropolitan and went up to the Roof top.

IMG_5859

IMG_5858

IMG_5857

I love New York City. I am already planning a return trip.

I had fun at the museums but I so wanted to be running!!!

Happy Running! How do you feel on your rest days?

runner-sig

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Big Apple for a Rest

  1. Looks like you did quite a bit of walking on your rest days 🙂
    I love my rest days, I admit sometimes they feel very long, but I don’t want to be injured anymore, so a little running is better than none i decided.

    Like

Leave a Reply

