My Therapy Run


I woke up Monday in a really pissy mood.

I had the day off from work.  I took it off to recover from my hilly 10 mile race.  If you read yesterday’s post, you know that I DID NOT get to run one of my favorite races.

I also spent most of Saturday in a plane or at an airport and most of Sunday, in a car.  None of which were part of the plan.

So, although, I was extremely sleep deprived, I NEEDED A RUN!

Not just any run but a special one.  So I decided to drive to Peeples Island State Park. I had run there last year once and loved it.

IMG_5969

Of course, with unpacking, housework and laundry, I didn’t arrive there until around noon when it was sunny and in the 80’s.

I decided to run around the area first.  There was a nice path after the bridge.

IMG_5965

IMG_5966

IMG_5970

I also discovered another path along the river.

IMG_5967

I stopped for some water and then continued over another bridge and headed in the opposite direction.

IMG_5972

IMG_5971

IMG_5973

At this point I had run about 3 miles.  After another stop for water, I finally entered the park’s trail.

IMG_5976

IMG_5977

IMG_5979

IMG_5983

IMG_5980

IMG_5985

IMG_5986

There are a lot of roots and rocks so it is hard to run.  I did a lot of walking but ran when it was safe to do so.

As you can see by the pictures, it’s a very relaxing place to run.

When I finished the loop around the park, I had completed 5.75 miles. Of course, I ran across to the park across the street so I would end with 6 miles!

They may have been the slowest miles I have ever run but I felt 100% better.

Happy Running! Is running ever your therapy?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “My Therapy Run

  1. What a great place! It does look very relaxing. I need a therapy run myself.
    The trail looks awesome, plenty of shade cover is nice 🙂 Love the quote!

    Like

Leave a Reply

