My Most REAL Race #REALwomenmove


Go to http://www.skirtsports.com/ambassadors/ to read about the awesome ambassador captains

Part of my responsibility of being a Skirts Sports Ambassador Captain is posting every month on a different topic. You can click on the links to read my posts.

In April, the topic was:

In May, the topic was:

This month, it’s:

  • My most REAL race ever

Actually ALL of my races have felt “real.” Every experience was different but I learned something from each one.

Which one is the most real???

It could be my FIRST HALF MARATHON….

Half in Naples, Florida

Half Marathon in Naples, Florida

It felt unreal at the time.  I couldn’t believe that I had run 13.1 miles.  I had never raced more than a 5k.  I didn’t even train with a GPS watch. It is my proudest moment!

It could be the half marathon(s) that I ran in the FREEZING RAIN.

lg6

Lake George Half Marathon

lr2

Love Run

I was miserable and wanted to quit so many times but I didn’t. I stuck it out and am glad that I did.

It also could be the races where I was injured and ran IN PAIN. Unfortunately, there were several.

rw_5k_a

Runner’s World 5k with a stress fracture

frw35

Freihofer’s 5K with a broken foot

ap hm early

Asbury Park Half when my foot hurt the whole race

These races showed me how strong I can be and how important running is to me.  (or maybe how stupid & stubborn I am.) Fortunately, none of these injuries worsened due to racing.

But I think my MOST REAL RACE EVER is the first one that I ran after I had surgery on my ankle.

I had 8 screws and a plate put in and the ortho told that I would walk again but he wasn’t sure that I could run races.

I broke my ankle on Dec 29. I had signed up for the Freihofer’s 5K (which is my favorite race) before that. The race was held on June 1.  I hadn’t started running yet but I was walking.  So I decided that I would go to the race and walk the 3.1 miles.

FRW - 2013

happy to be running again with friends

Your bib was colored according to the previous year’s finish time. I squeezed in with the other YELLOWs (though I thought that I should go to the end with the walkers but it was too far to walk!)

As soon as the gun went off, off I started running.

Yes, I ran!

I ran up the hill.  I kept running and running and running.

I cautioned myself to go slow so that I would be able to finish the race.

Everyone was running.  I felt that if I stopped to walk, I would be trampled.  Yes, runners were passing me but for the most part I was keeping up at my slow pace.

I left my Garmin home since I was planning to WALK so I had no idea what my pace really was and I didn’t care.  I WAS RUNNING!

As we approached the end…it was downhill.  I slowed as to not FALL and then I sprinted (yes sprinted) across the finish line.

I had TEARS in my eyes.  I couldn’t believe that I RAN!!!!

frw12tu

pic on the cover of the TU

Strangely, my picture appeared on the front page of our local newspaper.  I got a lot of phone calls questioning whether or not that was really me and how did I do that??

I framed that picture and gave it to my PT guy and my ortho (who both thought I was nuts.)

No race has ever felt as REAL!!

Love this Jenny Hadfield quote:

I made a pact with myself to never complain about an event I’ve successfully finished. No matter what my finish time or pace, I will cross the line with a pocket full of gratitude. Records are meant to be broken, but those moments are far and few between. Every adventure offers an opportunity to evolve, explore, and celebrate life. And that is the gift that keeps on giving.

Be sure to drop by the Skirt Sports website to see how the Ambassadors as #REAlwomenmove!

Happy Running! What has been your most “real” race?

runner-sig

6 thoughts on “My Most REAL Race #REALwomenmove

  1. That quote is awesome! You have so many great race stories and you definitely have pushed through some tough races! I honestly am not sure what my most real race is…I don’t super love racing so maybe that’s why I’m having trouble with that question!

    Like

Leave a Reply

