June Update & Wednesday Word


June Goals:

  • Run 3-4 times each week. YES! except for taper & recovery week

IMG_5831

IMG_5891

IMG_5996

even ran before work twice

  • Get some strength training or yoga done. NO!!! Not yet…
  • Go for a walk several times a week at work. YES!

IMG_5840

IMG_5998

  • Run a 5K. YES!
IMG_5884

not fast but won 3rd in my AG

  • Complete Half Marathon #14. YES!
IMG_5908

again very slow but won 3rd in my AG

  • Complete a 10 mile race. No! My flight got cancelled.
  • Lose at least 5 lbs. Doubt it!
  • Run at least 80 miles. No, not even close.
jun15

took a week off after my half marathon

What else?

  • I went to NYC with friends
IMG_5854

to the Neue Galerie

IMG_5857

and the Metropolitan Museum of Art &

  • I went to Denver for a work conference and took a City Running Tour

IMG_5964

  • I went boating several times

IMG_5874

lg

  • I read some good books and saw some movies

and Mary Coin, the Ape House and others that I can’t remember

and Spy

July Goals:

  • Run 3-4 times each week.
  • Get some strength training or yoga done.
  • Go for a walk several times a week at work.
  • Run a 5K race or two.
  • Improve my speed.
  • Keep my weight in check.
  • Run at least 70 miles.
Deb Runs
Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.
This week’s Word is INDEPENDENT
Here’s what “Independent” means:
  1. not influenced or controlled by others in matters of opinion, conduct,etc.; thinking or acting for oneself:
  2. not subject to another’s authority or jurisdiction; autonomous; free:
  3. not influenced by the thought or action of others:
  4. not dependent; not depending or contingent upon something else for existence, operation, etc.
  5. not relying on another or others for aid or support.
  6. rejecting others’ aid or support; refusing to be under obligation to others.

Hmmm…am I independent?

Yes and no.  But more Yes than No.

20140722-113927-41967386.jpg

at a Jimmy Buffet concert

I am married so of course, I can rely on my hubby for support.   He will tell that I am stubborn and don’t listen to his advice. Although we enjoy boating and tennis, we have many different interests.  This results in spending a lot of time doing things separately.  (Some people might think this odd because many married couples do most things together.) For example, I don’t expect him to accompany me on vacation and to races.

10930140_10153644616024428_2341859311465703941_n

solo at a tennis tournament in CA

I do have a lot of friends.  I love being with them.

11270392_654391348028491_7891947832278018232_o

But if I can’t find someone to do something, I will do it alone.  I will go to the movies alone.  I will go on a trip alone. (I have flown to Europe several times alone.)

florida jan 2015 (116)

in Fla solo running a half marathon where I knew no one

So how does “Independent” relate to running?

  • not influenced by the thought or action of others – I don’t care when people say “Isn’t that bad for you knees?” “Should you be doing that with your ankle?” (Runners don’t care what others think.)  We also can run at whatever pace we are capable of. 
  • not relying on another or others for aid or support – I drive to my races by myself and run by myself most of the time (Running is a great sport because you don’t need others to do it.)
  • not depending or contingent upon something else for existence, operation, etc – All you need are running shoes (and some cute outfits LOL) and you can run.

Happy Running! How did you do in June? What’s planned for July? Are you independent?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “June Update & Wednesday Word

  1. Good luck on your July goals! I would love to go to NYC someday and would also love to do a running tour of a city. That sounds like such a neat way to tour a new place.

    I pretty much have the same answer as you…. Am I independent? Yes and no, but usually more yes than no.

    Like

  2. You sound like me with your independence. I don’t mind traveling alone to races and don’t expect my husband to come with me. There are things we enjoy together but we have separate interests too. Yes! JB for president!

    Like

  3. I set yearly goals, but usually don’t really break them down monthly. I guess if I did, I would say that my June was pretty good. I have my first 5K of the year on Saturday, so I guess I’ll see how I’m doing then for my shorter distances.

    I love how you related running to the definitions of independent. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Braving The Elements - Deb Runs

Leave a Reply

