Thinking Our Loud Thursday: Becoming a Morning Runner


thinking out loud

So I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

A Morning Runner???

Who me?

2x before work

I like to run in the morning but I just can’t get motivated to get out of bed early enough.

I like read at night instead of going to bed early. Then morning is my watch the Today show, read blogs, and relax time of day before having to go to work. Yup, work gets in the way of everything!!

Here are some tips:

  • Schedule it. Put it on the calendar. Make it a priority.

  • Set your running clothes out the night before. It will save you time (and you can sleep longer.)

  • Don’t hit the snooze button. (or the next thing you know, it will be too late to run.)

  • Vary your route.  Make it interesting.

  • Find a friend to run with. It will keep you accountable.

I don’t live near any runners but Barbara lives the closest so maybe I coax her into running with me.

Why run in the morning?

  • You will feel better for the rest of the day.

  • You may even get to see some interesting morning creatures.

IMG_5996

  • In the summer, it is much cooler and in the winter, it is lighter outside.

Happy Running! Are you a early morning runner or do you prefer to sleep in and run later?

runner-sig

 

10 thoughts on “Thinking Our Loud Thursday: Becoming a Morning Runner

  1. I used to be a morning runner – when I could walk the dogs after I ran. Now it’s too warm, even cool as it’s been, so not so much. Except Saturdays & then my husband gets to walk the dogs.

    Laying out everything ahead of time is huge for me, since my husband is still asleep in the bedroom.

    Like

  2. Morning. Always! I feel so much better during the day if I have run that morning! It’s a huge difference. Also, if I lay out my clothes…I can’t NOT run. It’s like they keep me accountable.

    Like

  3. I have no choice but to run in the morning now until Sept. because it’s always so hot here. I have been having a tough time getting my self out the door since the runs aren’t feeling so fun, my only day I look forward to is Friday, I actually have someone to run with and we whine together lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

