Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats


IMG_6017

Yes, I know that you must be in shock.  You never see recipes on my blog nor do I ever mention meal preparation or cooking.

But I was inspired by Chocolate RunsJudy and I was bored. Last Sunday, I had done my errands and the laundry. It was still raining and was forecast to rain all day.  I don’t have a treadmill so I had to skip my run. (I don’t run in the rain unless it’s a big race,)

So I decided to make overnight oats.

I can’t find the chocolate anymore 😦

Oatmeal is my favorite pre-race food.  I usually buy the re-packaged variety and add raisins and sometimes chia.

I looked around my kitchen for ingredients that I already had and came up with this recipe (based on a recipe from My Whole Food Life with some additions):

1/2 cup of gluten-free steel oats (you can use regular steel oats or rolled oats)
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp flax meal (I didn’t have any so I didn’t add it)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp vanilla extract or 1T whey vanilla protein powder (I used protein powder)
1/4 tsp nutmeg (I also didn’t have this either)
2T unsweetened apple sauce
2 tsp maple syrup
1/4 cup raisins
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

Throw all the ingredients in a jar or container and mix well. Cover and stick in the fridge overnight.

You can eat it cold or heat it up in the microwave.

I ate it warm before my run on Monday morning and yesterday.  I liked it but I didn’t love it. So the verdict is still out (Packaged oatmeal tastes better and it is easier.)

I may have to try some other varieties before I give up on the idea of eating healthy oatmeal.

Happy Running! Do you make overnight oats?  What is your favorite kind?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Overnight Oats

  1. I am not an oatmeal fan, I just don’t like mushy..or warm I guess. I like oats dry in something like peanut butter ball though…
    I never really run in the rain on purpose either…I will go if it’s drizzling before work because I know I wont be out long, but no thanks to the downpours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

